No sound with Minifuse 1

Hello, I’m fairly new to the audio community and I’ve purchased some Kanto Yu4 and a minifuse1. However when I connect them both together, I see the sound reaching the minifuse(front light moving) However no sound comes out from the Yu4. I’m using a TS->RCA Cable to connect the two together, I know the manual mention using a TRS instead however, I’ve read it was not an issue.

Any idea on how to fix this issue?

Can you tell us exactly how you have everything connected and set up? Maybe include photos of the back of the speakers and the front & back of the interface. Is the RCA switch on the back of the speaker set to “Line”? Also it looks like those speakers make you select the input source by pressing the volume button on the front or using the remote. Could that be it?

Oh right sorry about that! And you were completely right.

First the switch on the back was set to RCA instead of Line, which in my head made more sense…
Second, I didn’t switch the input source from the remote control as well. So those two fixed the sound issue

However, I now have a issing/bussing sound permanently while in that mode. (I’ve attached an image of the speaker, just ignore the switch on the back of the speaker it’s now properly set on “Line”)

1 Like

Ah OK, glad you solved it! I think “RCA” is just the label for the switch, which is meant to change between phono and line level inputs. Phono is intended for turntables, which need extra amplification, so it will route through another preamp. Audio interfaces output at line level, which doesn’t need that extra boost. By having the switch in the middle, it’s possible that neither circuit was connected.

You’ll want to be very careful not to run line level signals into the speaker when it’s set to phono, as this could damage them.