Get ChatGPT to RTFM

I was a bit overwhelmed by the idea of working through a 241 page manual for Pigments 5. Instead, I uploaded it into ChatGPT so now I can now ask it how to do something and it does the reading up for me!

2 Likes

I haven’t tried ChatGPT yet. Does that mean it lives in there for anyone to query now?

I had a (free) Open AI account already, and downloaded the Chat GPT app for Mac. Hadn’t realised you can upload a file for it to work from before now

Using an “AI” system to explain a simple manual is peak dystopia. I can’t possible relate to this, and it’s shocking that people still think this is 1) AI, 2) any sort of good idea. Good luck.

1 Like

Well, OK… Just for context, I work in the tech sector, have a healthy scepticism about all things AI, but try to keep my mind a little bit open to exploring where it might actually be useful.

What is useful about this approach in my view (although I’m not looking to change your already-made-up mind here) is that while it will find the answer to a question, it also explains the context. Faced with trying to get started with a brand new VST that works very differently to what I’ve used to date, the idea of trudging through a very long manual sequentially before I can do anything isn’t how I want to work.

Just posted here for interest for others. But thanks for sharing your view!

Ive worked in tech literally 30 years as a net/sysadmin generalist. I understand every aspect of the debate, from ethics to the technologies themselves and how they are derived, and I need no explainers. The problem is also much, much broader than this discussion, of course.

1 Like

© ARTURIA SA – 2024 – All rights reserved. www.arturia.com

The software described in this manual is provided under the terms of a license agreement or non-disclosure agreement. The software license agreement specifies the terms and conditions for its lawful use.