Can anyone help me with this Patrick Moraz sound from Sound Chaser by Yes?

I’m learning to program sounds in Pigments. I wanted to get some feedback and ideas to see if I’m on the right track. The song is Sound Chaser by YES from the Relayer album. Patrick Moraz plays a synth solo that I’ve always loved. I’m a Jazz guitarist (not a keyboard player). So, I can’t actually perform the synth solo. So, I found a midi file for it online, loaded that into Logic started to work on getting a similar sound in Pigments. I’m really excited about what I’ve done. But as a “new” synth person I’m sure you with more experience can help.
On the Youtube link, the solo starts at 7:45

So, I’ve created 2 different version os the sound.

1. Using the Analog Engine( using FM between oscillator 1&2 with Mod Wheel). This makes sense cause I’m pretty sure that when this album was made there were only analog synths around.
  2. Using the Wavetable Engine (modulating the table with LFO 2). I actually think that I like what I did with the wave table engine more. I think it captures the “bite” that is in the original sound.

btw…the pitch bend and mod wheel are used a lot in the solo (I’m fairly certain) and they add lot’s of character. The midi file was really quantized and kinda mechanical sounding.

I’ve never exported or uploaded Pigments patches before so I hope this works.

Thanks for any help or ideas.

thanks,
Morris
Pigments_Preset_Patrick Moraz Analog Lead_20230810_17h08.pgtx (117.3 KB)
Pigments_Preset_Patrick Moraz Wavetable Lead_20230810_17h08.pgtx (117.3 KB)

1 Like

I just tried uploading 2 mp3 files, one for the ANALOG version and one for the WAVETABLE version of the lead sound in my original post. I could not figure out how to upload mp3 files on this forum. How do people usually share short audio examples on the Sound Explorers Corner / Your sound?

thanks
Morris

Hi Morris,