Assigning loops or beats to pads

Hi all,
I’m a classical musician and new to the possibilities of digital production. I’m learning as I go and write music for orchestral instruments but want to be able to work in beats or loops into my compositions using the pads. Currently I create loops in my DAW but I know that I should be able to trigger these on the pads on my beautiful Arturia. But I can’t figure out how! Please help :pray:.
This is a sample of my music so you can see the kind of things I’m working on https://on.soundcloud.com/no6ve2zK6MHJ2vuXA

1 Like

Hi @Wurligig ! Welcome to the forum!

What are you using? Cause the most common way to do beats and loops is on Ableton Live. here in this video yo can see how it works.

If you still can’t do what are you searching for…just write back :wink:

See you around! Have a great day!

Thanks so much for this. I’ve had a look but I’m actually using Reaper. It might not be the DAW that I should stick with so happy to try Ableton of its better in the long run.

My main issue is that I don’t know how the sounds are assigned on principle. Would it be the same across most DAWs?

Where I’m at is:

1. Creating a template in midi control centre
  2. Assigning this to a user
  3. Not sure how to assign sounds to each pad - it’s this part done in the DAW?
1 Like

Your welcome!

Ok I understand, Reaper is a good DAW but for the things your looking for I think Ableton is more accurate :smiley:

1.- Well in the midi control centre you can configure the user mode that you want, but for Ableton we have a DAW template or most of the DAW configuration already mapped with Ableton. So maybe this could work:

2.- To assign the template first you have to create one and save it with the name you want. Than you have to select where do you want to “Store To” and press that option.ç

• New Template
  • Store To