October 19, 2019, 10:05:53 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Routing to Envelopes  (Read 125 times)

Igro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Routing to Envelopes
« on: October 10, 2019, 09:06:26 pm »
Hi Arturia team.

Is it possible to add routing to the envelopes, so that we could feed Oscillators to different Amp envelopes. It is really useful when doing snare kicks. In this case a Sine wave would be processed separately from the Noise oscillator. Otherwice the sine wave is havind the same length as the noise...

Thank you.

P.S: Also, I hope with new version the Amp envelope attack issue would be fixed too. Now it is clicky even at the higher attack setings, especially with the Matrix filter (but I guess other filters might be affected too).

stephenm

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2019, 12:30:18 am »
You can certainly use the Envelopes and Functions to modulate an Oscillator level.  It that what you're trying to do?

Igro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2019, 05:58:21 pm »
Sure You can. But I'm speaking about different thing.

Each oscillator is routed to the VCO Amp envelope (the first one). And you cannot prevent it. With this fixed setup, you cannot process the amp envelope independently for OSC1 and 2.

stephenm

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2019, 07:36:36 am »
Try this to get what you described for a snare, using, for example, Engine 1 set to "Analog" Type:
 - Use Env 2 to modulate Volume control of OSC 1 set to Sine (or OSC 2 with "Key" turned off if you wish)
 - Use Env 3 to modulate Volume control of NOISE
Now you have independent envelope control of the Sine and Noise components of your snare.

Igro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2019, 10:28:17 am »
Hi Stephenm,

Are you aware that both Oscillators volumes go to VCO1 first anyway? So VCO1 will affect both oscillators volume envelopes anyway, it just cannot be otherwise.

The synth structure:

Occ1/2 ----- > VCO1-----> ...

Have you actually tried what you suggested. Could you share a preset? Thank you.

stephenm

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2019, 06:26:12 pm »
In each Engine, all 3 OSC and NOISE have separate Volume controls.  Modulate those controls with separate Envelopes.  Yes, I've done it and it works.

stephenm

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2019, 07:46:01 pm »
Try this for a starting point.

Igro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2019, 08:45:27 pm »
Thanks.

But Pigments cannot import (or export) presets correctly, so your preset was not loaded properly (despite the fact that Pigments says it was loaded). It is a bug of the synth (try to load your own preset).

Seems like you don't understand me. I know that you can assign Env2 and 3 to those Volumes (just like any modulation assignemnt). But this would be a secondary assignment, since they are firstly routed to Env VCO by default and this cannot be avoided. Oclillator Volumes are always affected by the Env VCO first. So you cannot process Oclillator volumes independly BEFORE the Env VCO. Only after it. So it is not that suitable for creating snare kicks, becuase you won't be able to adjust the AMP envelopes of the Sine and Noise separately, without bypassing the ENV VCO. Hope it is clear now.


The truly independent Env assignment can be found in Synthmaster One (check the picture)
« Last Edit: October 12, 2019, 08:52:10 pm by Igro »

stephenm

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2019, 09:59:01 pm »
Hi Igro,

I see what you mean about importing presets - it fails here too.  This bug in Pigments certainly makes these conversations more difficult - ugh.

Yeah, I'm sure I'm not completely understanding what you're saying.

In my patch - I started with Template "Default" - I removed the effect of Env VCA by leaving its sustain at max, so the only things affecting audio levels are Env2 controlling OSC2 and Env3 controlling NOISE, as shown in the attached images. Mixing is done my varying the amount of modulation, in my version 1.00 for the sine versus 0.78 for noise.

It looks like in your third picture - I'm assuming that's Synthmaster One - that the OSCs go through separate Filters and then separate Amps.  Are you wanting separate envelopes for those two Amps?

I hope this helps.

Igro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2019, 06:07:11 pm »
Hi Stephem. You were right, it was possible. On KVR one of the users showed me how to do this and it worked. Thank you both and sorry for my stupidity.

stephenm

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
Re: Routing to Envelopes
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2019, 07:45:49 pm »
Thanks Igro, I'm glad you got it working.

-Stephen

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines