October 24, 2019, 01:23:22 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Keystep and Arturia Analog Lab 4 Standalone - Noob Question  (Read 78 times)

Jackenorton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Keystep and Arturia Analog Lab 4 Standalone - Noob Question
« on: September 15, 2019, 01:00:59 am »
Hi! I've been searching the forums, but haven't found an answer to my question, I'm hoping someone can help. I'm pretty new to synths, I previously played bass, but I'm learning. Here's what I need to know today:

I got a copy of Analog Lab (Lite) when I bought my Keystep, set it up as a standalone app, and registered it on my Windows 10 computer. I plugged in my Keystep via USB, hoping to use it to play the sounds in Analog Lab. Well, it appears Analog Lab doesn't "see" the Keystep, and the Keystep doesn't "see" Analog lab. It's weird and counter-intuitive, since they're both Arturia products. In the midi controller dropdown menu, there is a long list of Arturia devices that I don't own, but no Keystep.

When I select Analog Lab's midi settings from the top menu, and the dialogue box is displayed (and when the Keylab is plugged in via USB,) I can "see" and select the device - but there is no way to save that setting. Is that just a restricted function imposed by the "Lite" version of the software?

I was able to "see" the Keystep in Ableton immediately, and set it up as a control device. Do I need to set up Analog Lab as a plugin for Ableton to be able to use it with my Keystep?

I'm sure there is a simple answer; I suspect it might have to do with midi, which I understand very little about. I like the sounds I can make on Analog Lab via the virtual keyboard, but of course, that's not practical for playing. I'd like to know how to make this work before I drop another $500 on the full library. Any tips here?

Thanks!

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.412
  • Karma: 50
Re: Keystep and Arturia Analog Lab 4 Standalone - Noob Question
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2019, 01:34:22 pm »
Hi,

When I select Analog Lab's midi settings from the top menu, and the dialogue box is displayed (and when the Keylab is plugged in via USB,) I can "see" and select the device - but there is no way to save that setting. Is that just a restricted function imposed by the "Lite" version of the software?
This tell me that your keystep are seen.
Select Keystep and choose your soundcard settings in this window. When you close the window all the settings should be saved/ remembered.

Start with Keystep set to MIDI channel 1 and Analog Lab MIDI channel set to ALL.

Keystep and beatstep are not to be seen in Analog Labs bottom toolbar. I don't have Keystep, but i assume you shall just have this setting set to Generic MIDI Controller. I assume it's like that by default. The default setting should be fine whatever it is.

If this does'nt work, then i can't help, as i don't have Keystep.
Keep in mind you have some options using the MIDI Control Center (MCC).

FYI: I use the full version of Analog Lab.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines