November 15, 2019, 06:16:26 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: No PWM on Voice I  (Read 253 times)

Tallguy

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
No PWM on Voice I
« on: October 07, 2019, 11:06:17 pm »
Maybe I'm going mad, but for the life of me, I can't get PWM to work on Voice I.

Here's what I do:
- Start with the 'Default' patch (Patches > Template > Default)
- Dial up PWM and nothing happens

It works fine on Voice II

Using Version 3.4.1.2810 in Reason on a Mac

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.458
  • Karma: 50
Re: No PWM on Voice I
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2019, 11:34:25 pm »
That's because the "Default" patch have the modulation matrix active, and the LFO 1 vol is set to be modulatated by the modwheel, and the VCO 1+2 pitch to be modulated by LFO 1. You need to remove those matrix settings.

And while we are at it, then none of the voices in the Multi is set to have Ring mod active in the "Default" preset. But the Multi is active. Unless you change this settings one way or another, then the Ring mod won't work.

Tallguy

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: No PWM on Voice I
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2019, 11:59:54 pm »
I see, thanks. I hadn't even mentioned the Ring Mod, but already noticed it didn't seem to work.

But seriously, that's not what I would call a 'Default' sound. One where the mod wheel overrides the LFO 1 amount and the ring mod is essentially disabled.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.458
  • Karma: 50
Re: No PWM on Voice I
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2019, 01:52:40 am »
Your welcome.

I thought i just as well could mention the ring mod was'nt active, just in case you at a point would wonder about that. I remember i did.

It's not the way i wan't my CS-80 "Default" preset. I think it's confusing, that the PWM in synth line 1 and the ringmod does'nt work, unless you do something, that you don't exspect, you need to do, to get those things to work.

The current "Default" preset is a template prepared for modwheel controlled vibrato.
And then i guess it's an old file, from a time where disabling the Ring Mod could save CPU power.

Tallguy

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: No PWM on Voice I
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2019, 09:15:01 am »
Template > Saw seems to give a much better starting point than Default with far fewer weird little settings that trip you up.

Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: 22
Re: No PWM on Voice I
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2019, 09:30:44 am »
Hi !

Good catch ! We did a fair amount of work on all the default preset during V Collection 7 but it seems a few mistakes still went through. I updated the default preset by removing the routings in the Matrix and enabled Ring Mod on all voices.
This will be corrected in the next update we release.

Thanks for pointing this out !

Best,

Victor

Tallguy

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: No PWM on Voice I
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2019, 09:34:31 am »
Great to hear that. Confusing presets can really dampen the experience of getting to know a synth. The CS-80 is weird enough as it is

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines