December 09, 2019, 09:14:27 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak  (Read 535 times)

Rufus The Dog

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« on: May 18, 2019, 12:06:32 pm »
I downloaded the latest firmware first and then went through the firmware update procedure - seemingly without issue. When I power cycled my MF all I then got was the sign-on screen (MICRO FREAK etc in square outline) and nothing else - dead as a brick.

A member of the FB MF group let me know how to reset the MF to put it in to update mode - I could not find that referenced anywhere else - hold shift arp and oct/mod down then power up. The utility button lights up.

Starting MIDI Control Centre finds the MF but claims firmware revision is 0.0.0 - start update procedure and it fails with usual pop up error message and Utility button no longer lit and MIDI control centre can no long connect to MF.

I have tried various combinations of what gets turned on first, when connected etc. to no avail - I still have an impressive brick.

I have raised a ticket with Arturia but it is the weekend so I do not expect a response until Monday at the earliest.

Running on a MacBook Pro too old to update past El Capitan (10.11.6) - I do have a windows 10 machine available if anyone thinks that will help.

Any thoughts of what I could try next?  ???

Thanks

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 18
Re: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2019, 02:47:57 pm »

tnunnery

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2019, 05:11:41 am »
I have the same exact issue. The steps in the FAQ did not have any impact. Help!

Rufus The Dog

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2019, 09:40:59 pm »
Bummer. Did you try these steps?
https://www.arturia.com/faq/installation/firmware-reset-and-detection-of-a-midi-device

Thanks for the tip... still bricked though, sadly. I expect Arturia will point me at this first when they respond, hopefully, tomorrow.

Edouard_Arturia

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 297
  • Karma: 46
Re: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2019, 04:05:45 pm »
Hello.

I saw a user posting that he faced the same issue.
He resolved it by updating from Windows instead of MacOS.
Once updated, the unit could be detected again on his macbook.

I hope this can help !
Edouard Arturia

tnunnery

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2019, 10:37:46 pm »
Updating using a Windows 7 machine worked for me.

Rufus The Dog

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: I have 'bricked' my MicroFreak
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2019, 09:29:17 am »
Hello.

I saw a user posting that he faced the same issue.
He resolved it by updating from Windows instead of MacOS.
Once updated, the unit could be detected again on his macbook.

I hope this can help !

Thanks for the tip - that is, in fact, exactly how I solved the issue  :D

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines