March 28, 2024, 11:30:12 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Can I send controller values back to the keyboard (eg, knobs)  (Read 3375 times)

cboshuizen

• Apprentice
Can I send data back to the keyboard when in a user map, and in any other DAW? For example, can I send back the current automation value back to the rotary encoders so they remain updated? What are the midi port and midi parameters to do so?

LBH

Re: Can I send controller values back to the keyboard (eg, knobs)
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2019, 08:43:47 pm »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

I don't have an Arturia controller yet. And i'm no expert on this. But as far as i know then the knobs are endless encoders, and i believe they will have to recieve data to function correct.

According to the manual you also should have selectable pickup feature for the other controls. If that actually mean a parameter will not move until the control reach the value the parameter allready have, then i think that also only can work, if it get a value send to it.

So i would believe your Arturia controller recieve data. It's more a question if your applications - like your DAW - send the data, and if you have your controller correctly set up.

cboshuizen

• Apprentice
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2019, 06:26:45 am »
Thanks, yes, that's as far as I have gotten so far. The controllers work fine sending data, but the issue is if I change context in the DAW, of course the controller no longer matches the set value in the DAW. So, are there generic instructions for sending DAW controller values back to the keyboard? I can't find this anywhere.

Thanks!

LBH

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2019, 08:44:17 pm »
My point is, that i believe your Arturia controller does recieve data.