August 20, 2019, 01:17:44 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Cubase MicroFreak MIDI device  (Read 227 times)

DrJustice

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
  • Karma: 272
Cubase MicroFreak MIDI device
« on: May 13, 2019, 10:14:13 pm »
I've just completed a Cubase MIDI Device for the MicroFreak. It has both named patch selection and a remote/automation control panel.

You can install the device as follows:
- open the MIDI Device Manager
- click "Import Setup" and browse to wherever you stored the attached "Cubase_MicroFreak_Device.xml" file and select it
- select "MicroFreak" from the import dialogue and click "OK"
- select "Arturia MicroFreak" (or the MIDI port it is connected to) in the "Output" menu in the MIDI Device Manager window.

When installed, you can select the device in the track inspector, then you can open the panel and change patches from there.

You can name the presets to you liking by clicking the "e" in the panel toolbar, selecting "Patch Banks", ticking "Enable Edit" and editing the names in the patch treeview on the left (double click the names to edit them).
« Last Edit: May 14, 2019, 10:35:03 am by DrJustice »

francoise

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Cubase MicroFreak MIDI device
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2019, 10:45:21 pm »
Thank you!  :D

019297

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: 2
Re: Cubase MicroFreak MIDI device
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2019, 04:35:56 am »
is this a time to turn local control on the freak off? I use cubase and the freak but I do not have this set up. Is there an advantage to this over a more simple set up of midi track/audio track in cubase for the freak?

DrJustice

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
  • Karma: 272
Re: Cubase MicroFreak MIDI device
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2019, 08:52:29 am »
is this a time to turn local control on the freak off? I use cubase and the freak but I do not have this set up. Is there an advantage to this over a more simple set up of midi track/audio track in cubase for the freak?
If you don't use local off with Cubase, chances are that you do not a return path so that you get a MIDI loop and/or that you have "MIDI thru" off in Cubase. In this case you can continue to leave local on. If strange things happen it's always an idea to turn "MIDI thru" off in Cubase to see if there was a MIDI loop.

The panel is useful for remote control and recording automation and if you run the freak with "Knob sends CCs" set to OFF.  The named/numbered patch changes is a convenience that lets you select programs without fiddling with bank and program to do that, and you can also name the patches to whatever you have called them on your freak.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines