April 26, 2019, 01:32:21 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Modulation Workflow Improvement  (Read 238 times)

craftycurate

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 1
Modulation Workflow Improvement
« on: January 23, 2019, 02:56:55 am »
I'd like to be able to click on the oscilloscope (marked on the screenshot) to enter the mod source editing page for that source (second screenshot). At the moment, we have to click on the "X" and then click the oscilloscope in the modulation strip to get there.

It's a small, low cost amendment, but it would increase workflow a lot, especially at a stage of sound editing where you're flipping from one screen to another to make a lot of changes.

If I the wrong tab is showing at the bottom, the quickest way to change it is to move all the way to the right, click the "X", and then select the tab.




Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 22
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 09:03:19 am »
Hey,




If I the wrong tab is showing at the bottom, the quickest way to change it is to move all the way to the right, click the "X", and then select the tab.



I feel this could be a potential addition, but just to be sure, do you know that you can click on the tab label itself to toggle between tab ? We made both the scopes and the tab itself clickable so that there is always a way to switch between tabs without exiting the modulation assign workflow.

Best,

Victor

Biome Digital

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2019, 02:46:25 pm »
Yes this is a great idea. Click the mod graphic and the modulator automatically shows! That would be good for the functions where there is three in the drop down. Btw, you don't ever need to click the X. Just click the screen outside the mod matrix to close it.

craftycurate

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 1
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2019, 11:00:49 pm »
Hey,

I feel this could be a potential addition, but just to be sure, do you know that you can click on the tab label itself to toggle between tab ? We made both the scopes and the tab itself clickable so that there is always a way to switch between tabs without exiting the modulation assign workflow.

Best,

Victor

Hi Victor ... thanks for your reply. I did know that and use it regularly.

At the same time having this extra way of summoning the relevant tabwould potentially save a couple of clicks, and also would be more intuitive since clicking on the oscilloscope on the modulation strip summons the relevant tab in the current implementation, so from an UX point of view it's a little more consistent.

Thanks
Richard

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.070
  • Karma: 50
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2019, 11:44:34 pm »
do you know that you can click on the tab label itself to toggle between tab ? We made both the scopes and the tab itself clickable so that there is always a way to switch between tabs without exiting the modulation assign workflow.
When you click the header tabs like for the LFO section, then the modulation window close. It would be good, if it only close, when you click on an inactive area - meaning not closing when  clicking on anything used for navigation and  parameter settings.


And yes for the 3 Functions it would be nice to have it opened on the wanted Function.

Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 22
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2019, 08:38:50 am »
@craftycurate

Yes, totally agree. Just wanted to make sure that you were aware that you did not need to exit the modulation mode. I logged it as a feature request on our side.




When you click the header tabs like for the LFO section, then the modulation window close.

And yes for the 3 Functions it would be nice to have it opened on the wanted Function.



Can you make sure that you are running the latest update(1.1.1.503) ?

-The modulation window is not supposed to close when selecting another tab (just tested it on my side)
-The function scope do react like you describe, when clicking on the Func3 scope it opens the Func3 window (same, just tested and it works)

I am trying it in standalone in OSX. Let us know about your setup if it does not behave like I described, so that we can try and see is anything is wrong.

Best,

Victor

« Last Edit: January 25, 2019, 08:46:08 am by Vic-tor »

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.070
  • Karma: 50
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2019, 04:15:01 pm »
-The modulation window is not supposed to close when selecting another tab (just tested it on my side)
Yes my bad. It's only if you click a tab that's already open the modulation window close. Or if you somehow doubleclick.
I use the latest version yes.

-The function scope do react like you describe, when clicking on the Func3 scope it opens the Func3 window (same, just tested and it works)
Please look at the attached animated Gifs. You can't click at the left in a open modulation window/ strip to go to that that function, or to anything at all like Crafturate suggest was possible for all. And if you click the Function tab, then it open on the last selected Function, and that does'nt have to be the one you wan't. So this will mean 2 clicks no matter what you do.

Well there is something wrong with the file upload. I have 2 animated gifs. Each a little more than 1 MB, but it's said it's to large, even though it should'nt be so,  as there should be room for 4 MB/ 4096 KB. That's quite annoying.
I attach an image of what i call a open modulation window/ strip for a modulator instead. When you click on the Function TAB, then you can't be sure it open on that same function, and you can't click at the shown display at the left like Crafturate suggest was possible for all modualtors.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2019, 04:17:27 pm by LBH »

Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 22
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2019, 04:28:36 pm »
My bad, I was referring to clicking on the central modulation zone, when not in any modulation assign mode. If you click on one of the three different function scopes, it does open the function tab with the corresponding function.

What you describe is also a cool little improvement suggestion. Noted ! :)

craftycurate

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 1
Re: Modulation Workflow Improvement
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2019, 01:32:31 am »
@craftycurate

Yes, totally agree. Just wanted to make sure that you were aware that you did not need to exit the modulation mode. I logged it as a feature request on our side.


Great thanks!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines