April 18, 2024, 11:32:55 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: KE9 3rd Impression sound: Can this be programmed on the MatrixBrute?  (Read 2912 times)

RobyD

Hello all!
I am new to the wonders of the MatrixBrute  (just purchased it) and wondering if the synth sound on ELP's Karn Evil 9 3rd Impression synth sound can be accomplished on the MB. It can be heard at the :45 second mark on this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wz6Mj8cROJw

I would love to be able to pull this off with the MB, but have NO experience in patching/routing modules.
Thank you in advance for any help and input... :)

Chromat1c

• Apprentice
Re: KE9 3rd Impression sound: Can this be programmed on the MatrixBrute?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2019, 04:35:43 pm »
Try a SAW into the Ladder add some resonance. perhaps use the mod wheel to wangle the filter cutoff.
Add some envelope to the filter. Sounds like an easy sound to make , pretty basic.

You want to learn the basics of subtractive synthesis then you will find it easy.

turbo_kev

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2019, 07:05:21 pm »
Im sure there are quite a few MxB new owners
that would love lo learn the basics of subtractive  synthesis

I am one of them

I have all these elp, tangerine dream, tonto expanding head band
sounds in my head

and I haven't got a clue where to start

Where does one go to learn the skills
you tube  web sites  etc wetc

suggestions please

cheers
kev
BWS 3.0.0,Spark LE, V Collection 6.2, BS1 & BS PRO, Keystep & Keystep pro  keylab 25, Axiom pro 49,Behringer UMC1820,Launch pad pro,ProFx8 v2,Icon m+ & D2,KRK 10/3,win 10 pro,i7 5820k 4ghz ,16G ddr 4 ,1TB NVMe.M2, msi x99a sli + , NV GF Gt 710, Matrix Brute  Roland TR8S

Major Kong

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2019, 09:54:02 am »
and I haven't got a clue where to start

Try this series of articles: https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques/synth-secrets-all-63-parts-sound-on-sound