October 16, 2018, 01:38:05 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: External keyboards and Arturia filters  (Read 320 times)

Amalgamoth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: 2
External keyboards and Arturia filters
« on: July 05, 2018, 08:08:15 pm »
I was wondering whether it's possible to let signals from external keyboards pass through any of the various filters from Arturia synths. I'm using an interface to convert the analog signal and send it to my laptop via USB. I can record in a DAW that also can load any Arturia application. So I think that in theory I could do this. Can someone explain me how to send an external audio wave signal to, for instance, the Modular effects filter? Or...Should it not be an audio wave signal but a midi signal instead?


Pittmanz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: External keyboards and Arturia filters
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2018, 06:15:39 am »
Mostly, I want to know where the source of this information comes from.

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 521
  • Karma: 39
  • I have a bad case of GAS!
Re: External keyboards and Arturia filters
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2018, 10:48:27 am »
You can pass any audio signal through the external audio input of those synths with that input, but unless you trigger the synth you won't hear it.  So you need to send a constant note via MIDI to open the VCA and VCF and allow the ext.in to pass, same as if you were playing the synth alone.  There is some fun to be had by turning down all the oscillator levels on the synth then running an arpeggio.  Play with the two envelopes (if you are running a minibrute or another synth with two envelopes) adjusting the decay time to start with and listen to how it will chop up the ext. input audio like a slicer.  Use a MIDI sequencer too to achieve the same thing by running a fast-ish run of notes to the synth.  There's a starting point for you, take that and run.
Waldorf, Korg, Arturia, Akai, Yamaha, Squarp, Etc,

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.748
  • Karma: 53
Re: External keyboards and Arturia filters
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2018, 07:59:48 pm »
Yes to use for example Modular V3 that's an instrument as an FX, then you route audio thru it and play the keys like megamarkd say.

The question is how you route audio thru it.

I don't know how you can do it in standalone mode.

Some DAWs like Studio One still needs a FX version of a synth to do it, and such a FX version unfortunate don't exist anymore as they did'nt in previous versions. Arturia should make one so all could have this functionality. It's a downgrade from earlier versions. If you have Modular V2, then you also have it in a FX version, and then you need to have it on a track so you can play it using MIDI notes to let the incomming audio from another track thru. How to do this also depend on your DAW.

Some DAWs can somehow route audio from one instrument on a track to another. In that case you can use the modular V3 instrument version. How it's done or if it can be done depend on your DAW.

In Modular you also have envelope followers. It's not just filtering you can do. Experiment.
Also be sure you use the audio in connections inside Modular in a preset. Otherwise modular does'nt use the audio for anything.

Arturias new software effects (filters and preamps) that's not instruments, come as FX versions and can just be added like any other effect in a DAW.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2018, 09:34:04 pm by LBH »

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 521
  • Karma: 39
  • I have a bad case of GAS!
Re: External keyboards and Arturia filters
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2018, 01:50:59 am »
I forget that there are more software users than hardware, so answered with hardware in mind, I have no clue about software  :-[
Waldorf, Korg, Arturia, Akai, Yamaha, Squarp, Etc,

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines