October 22, 2018, 07:03:08 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?  (Read 312 times)

Arnoid

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
I'm using my beatsep pro as a slave to Ableton to sequence external drummachines (sds-3)  who are connected to Ableton through an external mid-interface.

I have to put -17ms midi sync clock delay in midi preferences to get it perfect in sync with ableton.

The problem is if I press play/start and record the midi from the beatstep pro into ableton  the first bar is always not in sync is this normal behaviour ?

Sombody else experience this ?



quadraspleen

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2018, 05:50:11 pm »
if the BSP is slave, try using the start command from Ableton not the BSP..you may need to fiddle in MIDI control centre to make it work, you may not. How is BSP connected to your computer?

MIDI can need between 5-20ms delay in Logic too depending upon how busy my track is so that's quite normal within a DAW..on an empty track I don't need to delay at all, but as soon as I start adding VSTIs etc the delay needs to be increased...MIDI is too fast for modern DAWs hehe

I grec

  • Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: 26
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2018, 02:38:05 pm »
Hi Arnoid,
Ableton Live has a bug when slaved to MIDI clock. The problem is in Ableton side.
Try using Ableton Live as a Master.

Regards,
Y.

Arnoid

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2018, 03:21:42 pm »
Hi Arnoid,
Ableton Live has a bug when slaved to MIDI clock. The problem is in Ableton side.
Try using Ableton Live as a Master.

Regards,
Y.

Have you read my post ?

Ableton is Master in my situation :)
« Last Edit: August 01, 2018, 03:25:03 pm by Arnoid »

Arnoid

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2018, 03:28:25 pm »
if the BSP is slave, try using the start command from Ableton not the BSP..you may need to fiddle in MIDI control centre to make it work, you may not. How is BSP connected to your computer?

MIDI can need between 5-20ms delay in Logic too depending upon how busy my track is so that's quite normal within a DAW..on an empty track I don't need to delay at all, but as soon as I start adding VSTIs etc the delay needs to be increased...MIDI is too fast for modern DAWs hehe

Beatstep is connected with usb, it plays in sync.
The problem is if I press start and record the midi from the beatstep the first bar is not in sync.

Not a major problem you can cut it off or start recording the midi after a few bars played, but It would be great if it was in sync from the start.

I grec

  • Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: 26
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2018, 03:54:07 pm »
Quote
Have you read my post ?
Yes I have read it, but the behavior you describe (1st bar not synced) happens when Ableton Live is slaved.

Do you have the last firmware in your BSP?

Moreover, you should check your audio latency settings in Ableton Live.

Regards,
Y.


Pergamo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2018, 09:57:15 pm »
Same here with Reaper. The first bar when pressing play is not that tight. So when recording the midi coming from BSP I punch in later so the sync can get stable. It's midi clock - not much to expect.  :-\

I grec

  • Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: 26
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2018, 10:01:21 am »
I am pretty sure the last BSP firmware version do not have sync issues. I you have a sync issue, it may come from your software.

Regards,
Y.

Arnoid

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2018, 11:05:16 am »
I'm having the latest firmware I think its BSP related because when I do the same thing with my push (recording midi) it's in sync from the first bar.


I grec

  • Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: 26
Re: Beatstep Pro recording midi in Ableton first bar not in sync ?
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2018, 08:53:40 am »
Have you tried with another gear (not from Ableton)?

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines