August 20, 2019, 02:36:28 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Possibility to map a knob to switch?  (Read 507 times)

olliraa

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Possibility to map a knob to switch?
« on: April 30, 2018, 03:38:50 pm »
Hi.

I could not find a definite answer... Is it possible to map a control that is a knob (as default) to a switch? I'd like to set my sostenuto pedal (switch) to set the Leslie speed to fast/slow (knob as default).

Thanks :)

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.299
  • Karma: 50
Re: Possibility to map a knob to switch?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2018, 04:47:50 pm »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

It's possible to assign any assignable CC control to any parameter a CC control can be assigned to. So it's a question if you can assign you pedal as you like.
If you can, then keep in mind the control of the parameter is restricted to how a control work. So if control is a on/ off switch, then it only send 2 values.
Just try it out.

olliraa

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Possibility to map a knob to switch?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2018, 06:36:46 pm »
Thank you LBH for a fast reply :) Hmm... I just tried it out and clicked on the midi learn icon in the top right corner. The controls changed to purple, but it seems Analog Lab 3 does not "see" the sostenuto, although my audio interface definitely reacts (midi led flashes) as I press the pedal down. So the knob does not change to red :( On the other hand the software sees the default 2 *knobs* of my Roland RD-64... They are mapped as default and change to red as I turn the knobs (the sostenuto pedal does not turn the knobs to red). I don't see how I can circumvent this`:/ Parts of the controls of my midi controller are "seen" and parts are not.

Am I (really) stupid or what?

Sorry for the trouble,


-Olli

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.299
  • Karma: 50
Re: Possibility to map a knob to switch?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2018, 07:28:50 pm »
You do know this is'nt Analog Lab 3 forum?

Sostenuto pedal is'nt listed as a reserved parameter in AL3 manual. The sustain pedal is. It's not the same standard MIDI CC. I don't have a sustenuto pedal, so i can't try the pedal as such. But i have just tried to assign MIDI CC 66 (standard for sustenuto pedal) but could'nt, so it does look like this is reserved, even if it's not mentioned in the manual. Sorry.

olliraa

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Possibility to map a knob to switch?
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2018, 07:36:09 pm »
Oh, I really misread the forum topic. I'm really sorry  :-[ I'll continue my quest elsewhere. Thank you for your time LBH.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.299
  • Karma: 50
Re: Possibility to map a knob to switch?
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2018, 07:41:24 pm »
Your welcome.
Oh, I really misread the forum topic. I'm really sorry  :-[
It's okay. just wanted to inform you if this actually was a AL3 question.

I'll continue my quest elsewhere.
Fine, but as said, then it does'nt look like you can assign sustenuto CC even if it's not mentioned in the manual like other reserved CCs are.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines