March 28, 2024, 11:11:38 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Mapped Drum Pads on Beatstep Pro also are triggering KeyLab Synth on Seq 1?  (Read 1675 times)

mmryspace

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Hi,

I am new to both the KeyLab 49 and the BeatStep Pro and I am running into an issue where the mapped drum pads also trigger the KeyLab soft synth I am using on Seq 1. I am trying to figure out how to have only mapped drum pads sound when I am sequencing the Drum portion of the BSP.

Here is my set up:

I have the DR-770 Drum Machine and KeyLab 49 MIDI INs connected to BSP's MIDI Out via a stereo TRS splitter.

BSP sync is set to INT

I have MIDI mapped an 808 kit from my Boss DR-770 to a project on the BSP. The DR-770 is on MIDI channel 10 and the Drum Sequencer on the BSP is set to Channel 10.

The SEQ 1 channel is set to 1 and triggers the KeyLab 49 running an Arturia V Collection synth
The SEQ 2 channel is set to 2 and triggers the KeyLab 49 running an Arturia V Collection synth

Is the KeyLab sharing channel 10 and that is why when I hit the Drum Pads on the BSP it also triggers the KeyLab?
I have not configured any MIDI channels on the KeyLab.

Or is it the stereo split MIDI connections for MIDI out on BSP causing the issue?

Any advice on how to resolve this issue would be great! Thanks!

I grec

• Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
Hi mmryspace,
I have the DR-770 Drum Machine and KeyLab 49 MIDI INs connected to BSP's MIDI Out via a stereo TRS splitter.
Even if a lot of people seems to do this, I do not recommend to use TRS splitters for MIDI connections. The TRS MIDI signal output is not made for being splitted (the signal may become too weak). It may lead to issues (missing notes, synchro glitches...).

The SEQ 1 channel is set to 1 and triggers the KeyLab 49 running an Arturia V Collection synth
The SEQ 2 channel is set to 2 and triggers the KeyLab 49 running an Arturia V Collection synth