June 21, 2018, 12:02:33 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Sustain pedal is coded to transpose down 3 semitones -- can't make it sustain  (Read 194 times)

zedshift

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
I just bought this and loaded it up the first time in standalone. I can trigger the Piano V2 sounds -- very pretty -- but the sustain pedal doesn't work. It seems to be stuck in Momentary mode, and pressing it only transposes the board down 3 semitones. No sustain. Any idea how to fix?

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.607
  • Karma: 51
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

If this issue has to do with Piano V2, then the only way i can see this being possible, is if you somehow have got the sustain pedal assigned to Global Tension Transpose, and have set the automation sliders to work for setting the semitones you mention.
Then the Sustain Pedal no longer works to sustain notes either.

Have you had "MIDI learn" on somehow?
Have you changed MIDI Controller Config? Which config do you use?

With MIDI learn on you can press Shift + mouse click the Global tension control and see in the popup box if the pedal somehow has been assign to that parameter. You can also see on the sliders in the popup box if a range is set.
If this is the case, then unassign the pedal from the parameter and then assign the pedal to Piano V2s sustain pedal.

You can also just try to re-install Piano V2 and see if this will reset the settings.

Perhaps this issue also can be about your controller settings somehow. Can't tell. But have you checked, if that's the case?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 05:02:24 am by LBH »

zedshift

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
I think I will try reinstalling Piano V2. This occurred the first time I ever launched it (and every time since). The board and software are all brand new, and the sustain pedal works fine if I close Piano V2 and use the KeyLab88 to control an off-board module.

I also checked the Sustain Pedal settings in EDIT mode and according to the board, it is set on Sustain and inverted (as it should be for this pedal to work correctly).

So, I'm puzzled.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.607
  • Karma: 51
Did a re-install solve your issue?

If not.

On what MIDI CC does your Sustain pedal transmit?

the sustain pedal works fine if I close Piano V2 and use the KeyLab88 to control an off-board module.

it is set on Sustain and inverted (as it should be for this pedal to work correctly).
You mean a hardware unit?
Please keep in mind, that different hardware units may require different Sustain Pedal polarity settings to work correct.
Be sure the polarity setting work for Piano V2.
But anyway - this don't explain the transpose behavior you mention.

I also checked the Sustain Pedal settings in EDIT mode
You mean MIDI learn button activated?

according to the board

Please explain what "board" is or perhaps post a screenshot of this.

A screenshot of the Global Tension Transpose MIDI Learn settings might help.

djrbfm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
hi, yes i have the same problem as the op. cc64 will not sustain. on piano V2. it does on all the other instruments.
and there is a further problem.................if i just use the controllers from my KL88 as per the preset, all OK. BUT if i reassign any of the faders/sliders from 4 onward, it will not send the mssg to logic pro. i have checked this any number of times. seems as though it only wants to send standard cc mssgs like 1, 4, etc but not 19, 83, etc. a solution please. j.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.607
  • Karma: 51
Hi djrbfm and welcome to Arturia forums.

To address the Piano V2 sustain issue as this is the Piano V2 forum.

Are you saying your have no sustain issues with Stage and Wurlitzer applications?

Do you have sustain issues with Piano V2, when you use it in stand alone mode?

To be certain please confirm, that you are not talking about Analog Lab.

Also please explain what you mean by this:
if i just use the controllers from my KL88 as per the preset, all OK.
?

EDIT: When you step on your sustain pedal, then does the right pedal icon in the bottom panel of Piano V2 light up? EDIT END
« Last Edit: June 13, 2018, 04:47:25 pm by LBH »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines