December 07, 2019, 12:24:41 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Ableton older session: V2 plugins remap to V3?  (Read 450 times)

rotoscope

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Ableton older session: V2 plugins remap to V3?
« on: February 07, 2018, 05:36:14 am »
I have an older session that has the Prophet V2 and Jupiter-8 V2 in it. Is there a way to map these to their V3 equivalents? I have no idea what the patch was set to in the instrument, and don't have V2 installed on the machine anymore.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.504
  • Karma: 50
Re: Ableton older session: V2 plugins remap to V3?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2018, 02:22:58 pm »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

Your old and your new plug-ins don't have the same ID, and the preset system is different. You can have both the old and the new plug-ins installed. I have.

I would re-install the old plug-ins on the same path as before. Then they should load again in your old projects i exspect. I don't use Ableton, but i assume the needed data is in the old files, unless you have changed anything in them allready.
From there you can either:
1. keep it like that or replace them with the new plug-ins manually and select the preset in the new plug-in manually too. But remember that you can't be sure the new plug-ins will sound the same as the old even when using the same preset.
2. Convert the old tracks to audio. This is also the way you are most secured. You never know when something is changed.

Hope this helps.

rotoscope

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ableton older session: V2 plugins remap to V3?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2018, 02:28:46 pm »
Thanks @LBH. I'll pull the V2 downloaders and give it a whirl.

rotoscope

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ableton older session: V2 plugins remap to V3?
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2018, 03:17:51 pm »
Neither Ableton 9 or 10 are recognizing them?

Image (won't work with embed):
https://cl.ly/0b3m320A0F3b

rotoscope

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ableton older session: V2 plugins remap to V3?
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2018, 04:04:00 pm »
Strike that. A reboot took care of it.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines