February 19, 2020, 07:47:57 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: How do I activate my Jupiter 8V on a new computer. NB. Used to have Syncrosoft.  (Read 1926 times)

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
A long time ago I bought the Jupiter-8 V and used it happily for many years. The software came on a disk and included a Syncrosoft dongle. After a while I upgraded to the Jupiter-8 V2 (via download) which worked perfectly fine with the original dongle. I've just bought a new MacBook Pro and installed the Jupiter-8 V2 from the Artutria website so I can continue using it.

When I launch the Jupiter-8 V2 in Logic Pro X a window opens with the following options:

Activate: Open the Arturia Software Center to register and activate the Jupiter-8 V2.
Retry: Re-check for activation. Use this if you just activated the Jupiter-8 V2.
Demo: Run in Demo Mode. Saving/Loading and import/export are disable. The demo is limited to 20 minutes.

Having the dongle plugged in makes no difference to this - the window still appears.  If I click the "activate" button it takes me to the Arturia Software Center which seems to require me to buy the software to activate it. I don't want to do this as I already paid for it, albeit many years ago.

Does anyone know what the correct course of action is to make it work without having to pay for it a second time?

For information, I used to use the software in Logic Pro 8 on an early 2008 MacBook Pro running OS10.6.8 Snow Leopard. My new computer is an early 2017 MacBook Pro running OS 10.13.2 High Sierra and I'm running Logic Pro X.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 06:36:10 pm by MitchT »

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.796
  • Karma: 50
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

You don't use a dongle anymore. Arturia have abandonded E-Licenser for applications from V-Collection 4 and up.
Arturias applications is now activated thru Arturia Software Center (ASC).
ASC is free. Just download it. Then the software you have on your Arturia account can be activated there. You log into ASC using your Arturia account informations.
You can download ASC here: https://www.arturia.com/support/updates&manuals




MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
I suspected the dongle wouldn't be necessary anymore, but when I first bought the software I installed it from a disk and used the dongle to make it work, so I never had an online account with Arturia, so how do I now prove that I own the software so I don't have to pay for it again if everything's moved online? It's such a long time ago that I can't remember if there was a serial number which also had to be used and I've long since lost the disk and the packaging.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 06:36:37 pm by MitchT »

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.796
  • Karma: 50
You do have the V2 version? It's still possible to use e-licenser for the products that require this activation. Older V2 versions from V-Collection 3 i hink can use your dongle, but i'm not sure.

No matter what, then you'll need have informations about your product. If you don't have the informations, then i don't know if Arturia can help either.
I would think you had and account where you registred your product, at that you still have it. But perhaps it depends on what you did then. Even elicenser need a product code. Don't you have the info on your dongle still? If not, then you can try to contact Arturia support directly. But i will assume they need some kind of info that show, that you own the product, to be able to help you at all.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 06:41:17 pm by LBH »

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
I can open the e-licencer software with the dongle plugged into my Mac and see the licences that are on it - there's the Jupiter-8 V2 licence and also the licences for the Korg Legacy collection. I've successfully activated the latter as I was able to log into Korg User Net and get new activation codes for the software, but I can't remember the details for my Arturia account, assuming I did have one at some point. The frustrating thing is that the Jupiter-8 V2 licence is clearly visible in the e-licencer software when I've launched it with the dongle plugged in, I just don't have the lock code or activation code needed to make the software work, but it's obvious that I do own the software!

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.796
  • Karma: 50
If you have the license code on the dongle, then try and contact Arturia Support.
Perhaps sales support as i don't think that require you have an account: https://www.arturia.com/support/askforhelp/purchase

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
The licence is certainly on the dongle but there's no way of viewing the code itself to reuse it, as far as I can tell. I've emailed support anyway, so we'll see what they come back with. Thanks for your time in responding to my posts.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.796
  • Karma: 50
Your welcome. I hope a solution can be found. I don't know anything about how dongles work. Perhaps you can see the license, if you download the elicenser control center application here: https://www.steinberg.net/en/company/technologies/elicenser.html
I think you can, but i don't know for sure.

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
I have the e-licencer control centre installed already. I was trying to see if there was a way to see the activation code on there, but it appears not. It's likely that the original packaging for the software is one of a few items of mine that remain in the loft at the home of my ex partner who I haven't seen in nine years!

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
They came back and told me to log in to my Arturia account to reactivate it!  The whole point is that I have no recollection of the log-in details - I've tried every possible combination of email addresses and passwords used since I bought the software.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.796
  • Karma: 50
They came back and told me to log in to my Arturia account to reactivate it!  The whole point is that I have no recollection of the log-in details - I've tried every possible combination of email addresses and passwords used since I bought the software.
Yes. If Arturia have understood your issue, then you don't have enough valid informations for them to help you. But just to be certain, then i would ask them, if they have understood, you can't remember you account info.

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
I replied and said I didn't know my account info. I've not heard back again yet. The fact remains that I have a licence albeit on a dongle. Even if they're not supporting it anymore there must be a way for them to verify me from that and give me a new activation code as it proves that I own the software legitimately!

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
They're now asking if I can get my activation code from the eLicencer Control Center. I can't find a way to do this.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.796
  • Karma: 50
They're now asking if I can get my activation code from the eLicencer Control Center. I can't find a way to do this.
That's what i asked if you could.

I don't know if this will help: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-us/articles/115001663170-USB-eLicenser-serial-number-ID-dongle-key-
If not then try to do some research about eLicenser and perhaps ask Steinberg.

I don't know what Arturia can do.

MitchT

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
That just displays the serial number of the dongle itself - not the software licences that are stored on the dongle.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines