April 26, 2018, 09:43:51 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings  (Read 326 times)

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Hi, I just discovered this, wasn't sure how to report it so I hope this is the right place.

To reproduce the bug:

Solo a partial in the SCR mode, and make sure it has two frame (time slice) points. Click on the second one.
Draw in a variety of different phases for the modulator's harmonics, using the graph at bottom right. Important: make some of them are at maximum value.
Click on the initial frame point.
Click again on the second frame point. You'll see that all the phases that were set to maximum are now set to minimum!

As a developer, this feels to me like an 'unsigned int' sort of error. In other words, someone has misinterpreted (e.g.) +128 as -127...

Hope that helps. Let me know if you need images as I did take screen grabs. Also, let me know if I should be reporting this elsewhere.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 14, 2017, 11:58:16 am by macronencer »
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 10:41:33 am »
Sorry, I've just noticed there is a Synclavier V forum. Moderators, please feel free to move this post to the right place! Apologies.
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.507
  • Karma: 48
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 04:26:04 pm »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

Are you saying that a seting you have set for the first frame change when you change the second frame?
If you change the setting for one frame, then it should'nt change anything in other frames. And it does'nt here.

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2017, 04:41:10 pm »
No, I'm saying that when I set one of the modulation harmonic phase parameters to the maximum value, then click on a different frame, then return to the frame where I made the change, the value is now showing as negative (minimum). I've only tried this on the second frame so far, so I'm not sure whether or not it happens on the others, e.g. the first one. Would you like me to post the images?
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.507
  • Karma: 48
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2017, 05:28:59 pm »
Yes you are right. I can confirm.
It look like it's the other way around, that when you set a phase in one frame, then it change it in the other, when you have the phase set for the same harmonic. It also go in positive direction. Perhaps something else is happening too. But this is a bug. I can't recall i have seen this before. I have'nt noticed if so.
Something strange is going on.

EDIT: It look like it's when a phase in one frame is set to max, and a phase in the other frame is set to a value in the opposite direction this happens. Right? EDIT END
« Last Edit: December 14, 2017, 05:39:27 pm by LBH »

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2017, 11:49:36 pm »
Thank you! Yes, you seem to have narrowed it down further. I just did some more tests. It seems like whenever a phase control is set to the maximum positive OR maximum negative, then switching to any other frame and back again will flip its sign IF that other frame has the same phase control going in the opposite direction.

This also happens with carrier phase controls.
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2017, 10:10:29 am »
Does posting this topic constitute 'reporting the bug', or is there a different official channel for such things?
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.507
  • Karma: 48
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2017, 02:20:35 pm »
Arturia staff are looking in the forums. But to be sure you can contact Arturia support.

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2017, 03:45:39 pm »
Thanks! I've sent them a help request. I actually didn't spot the support link before, which is why I came here :)
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

macronencer

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Mike Torr
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2017, 10:13:10 pm »
I've made a video showing this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPeG8lOqfcY
Cubase 9.5 Pro on OS X El Capitan, 2009 Mac Pro 24Gb 8-core

Matt Arturia

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Karma: 35
Re: Synclavier V has a small interface bug relating to harmonic phase settings
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2018, 06:03:08 pm »
Hi,

I've managed to reproduce your issue and transmitted this bug to the DevTeam. I don't know what will be done but this is now referenced in our database.

Regards,

Matthieu

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines