April 19, 2024, 09:27:52 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: No MIDI signal in Ableton --- please HELP  (Read 3812 times)

gary coburn

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
No MIDI signal in Ableton --- please HELP
« on: September 11, 2017, 01:44:45 pm »
Hi all,

I'm new to the whole midi thing (been producing entirely using digital vst) after purchasing the Drum Brute, which is just the beginning.

The problem I am having is that Ableton is not receiving any midi?????

I have messed about with preferences in Ableton to assign the midi in/out for the Drumbrute, but for some reason even when doing this, I cannot select Drumbrute in the IO on the Ableton mixing console, which I would have expected to see.

I must be doing something wrong, but I would have anticipated this process being simple rather tha n complicated, you plug it in, you route it and away you go. This does not seem to be the case.

I have routed Drumbrute to my PC via the USB cable. I have also routed the audio directly to my audio interface as I understand that the audio is not generated thru midi, and I can hear the audio from Drumbrute no problem through Ableton when using an audio channel.

I can also see thru the Midi Control Center that this is also receiving a signal when I hit the pad, but again no midi being picked up in Ableton.

I am sure there is a simple answer or some toggle I have missed, cause I have exhausted every option, fiddled with every setting to no avail, and the manuals are like trying to decrypt some ancient mystery.

Can someone please explain in simple terms the process/setup the Drumbrute so that it can be a slave to Ableton?

Thanks in advance,
Gary
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 10:33:23 am by gary coburn »

I grec

• Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
Re: No MIDI signal in Ableton --- please HELP
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 02:14:11 pm »
Hi gary coburn,