March 29, 2024, 03:57:40 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Setting external devices parameters (MIDI cc?)  (Read 1142 times)

Arete

Setting external devices parameters (MIDI cc?)
« on: January 29, 2021, 03:59:15 pm »
Hello,

I would like to find out, if buying Beatstep pro or Keystep pro is the right solution for me.

I am a newbie. I played with Propellerhead Reason Trial and didn't like it. Than I bought Korg Volca Keys to go DAWless. It is a completely different experience and I think about buying drum, bass and arpeggio (Volca, NTS-1 or others) and something to control them all. I don't have a very particular sort of music in mind, could be from Tangerine dream to Techno Trance.  I realize that electronic music is more about discovering what already exists, than really making melodies, harmony, notes, etc. It is mostly about turning knobs and hitting pads, which makes it simple for someone as tonedeaf as me. But there comes my problem.

Let's say I like what I am currently playing on my Volcas. I can easily write those few notes and a rhythm or I could trigger them from a sequencer. The problem is how to remember the settings of all the knobs on several devices and get them back, when you want to play that song again? Even if you photograph it, sometimes slight differences in a position of one knob makes huge difference. If you play it live, it's impossible to fine tune it all before starting the new song. Can some of Arturia sequencers do that?