December 09, 2019, 10:16:21 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP  (Read 93 times)

hiro

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« on: December 07, 2019, 03:37:13 pm »
hello!

I would like to control the volca keys parameter with the knobs
of my BSP. As an exemple the cut off of the volca.
Is it possible? And if so.. how?

The midi out of the BSP going in the midi in off the Volca.

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Karma: 37
  • GAS BAGGER
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2019, 03:56:49 am »
You need to map the Volca Keys' parameters to the BSP's controller map using MCC.  The parameters CC's are available on Korg's Volca Keys download page.  Get the MIDI Implementation document, it has a chart with all the detail you need for the Volca side of things.  When you have that, punch the numbers into MCC.  Go to the Controller Map tab and select a knob.  Using the drop-down menus, make the appropriate settings to have it sending MIDI CC's on the channel that matches that which your VKeys is set to (if the VKeys is still in defaust settings, that will be ch1), then assign it the CC number corresponding to parameter you want it to control.  Do this with all the knobs and then test it out (I'm assuming here that you have already programmed the pads to play the Volca, or are using its onboard sequencer).  If all is good, you will be able to adjust the parameters on the Volca by turning the knobs and it will feel like magic ;)

REMEMBER, MOST IMPORTANT, you need to set your VKeys to receive (what Korg call in their manuals) MIDI short messages.  Refer to the Volca Keys manual for detail on how to do that (something along the lines of powering up while pressing function then the rest I can't remember).  If you don't have the Volca in short message mode, it won't respond to any attempts to address its parameters via MIDI CC's.

Hope I've helped.
Currently running synths from Waldorf and Arturia, Drumsynths from Korg, MAM and IK Multimedia, sequencing it all with Arturia's looping steppers, mixing and recording it all with a Zoom (no DAW involved, for better or worse ;) )

hiro

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2019, 06:28:55 am »
thanks a lot for your answer!! there's probable something that i'm doing wrong cause it's still not working.


1- you need to map the Volca Keys' parameters to the BSP's controller map using MCC.  The parameters CC's are available on Korg's Volca Keys download page.  Get the MIDI Implementation document, it has a chart with all the detail you need for the Volca side of things. 

1- I d/l the Volca keys midi implementation chart.


2- When you have that, punch the numbers into MCC. Go to the Controller Map tab and select a knob.  Using the drop-down menus, make the appropriate settings to have it sending MIDI CC's on the channel that matches that which your VKeys is set to (if the VKeys is still in defaust settings, that will be ch1), then assign it the CC number corresponding to parameter you want it to control.  Do this with all the knobs and then test it out (I'm assuming here that you have already programmed the pads to play the Volca, or are using its onboard sequencer).  If all is good, you will be able to adjust the parameters on the Volca by turning the knobs and it will feel like magic ;)

2- For the test, i used the CC #44 (cutoff) that. In the Controller Map section of the Midi control centre, i click on the knob 1, it became red. After i enter the #44 in the MIDI CC part.
I choose CC from the dropdown menu that is called MODE. I also entered in the Midi Channel slot the number 15. My volca keys is receiving also on the channel 15.[/size]


REMEMBER, MOST IMPORTANT, you need to set your VKeys to receive (what Korg call in their manuals) MIDI short messages.  Refer to the Volca Keys manual for detail on how to do that (something along the lines of powering up while pressing function then the rest I can't remember).  If you don't have the Volca in short message mode, it won't respond to any attempts to address its parameters via MIDI CC's.

In the volca setting, MIDI short messages is on. I'm also in CONTROL MODE position on the BSP.


What else am i missing?

« Last Edit: December 08, 2019, 06:41:57 am by hiro »

hiro

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2019, 06:45:01 am »
Should i enter infos, in the window? (see attachment)

When you say

punch the numbers into MCC

where exactly do you mean?
« Last Edit: December 08, 2019, 06:46:36 am by hiro »

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Karma: 37
  • GAS BAGGER
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #4 on: Today at 01:55:18 am »
Everything seems to be correct, all your settings in MCC are as they should be and the only 'device settings' that should affect it are the user channel and user acceleration settings.  It's always good to double check the MIDI channel on the Volca is set to 15 and a check your cable.  I'd also maybe check if there are any known issues regarding using a controller with the Keys.  Also you can use MCC to check that all the parameters you have set on the BSP are sending as they should by opening the MIDI Console view.  I'll see if I can get around to programming a control map for my Volca Drum at some stage, though I am behind in some other duties and really need to catch-up on them (though creating a controller for my VDrum would really help me with part of what I need to do).  That said, I had not problems at all running my VBeats via CC's; attached an LFO to the agogo pitch and turned it into a cowbell, because what is a drum kit that is missing a cowbell?
Currently running synths from Waldorf and Arturia, Drumsynths from Korg, MAM and IK Multimedia, sequencing it all with Arturia's looping steppers, mixing and recording it all with a Zoom (no DAW involved, for better or worse ;) )

hiro

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #5 on: Today at 02:16:07 am »
since i can play notes from the volca keys on the BSP pads and i hear the volca keys sounds, should the rest should work?

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Karma: 37
  • GAS BAGGER
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #6 on: Today at 02:37:38 am »
Yes most definitely.  I can't think of anything that maybe defeating you currently.  Have you tried checking the data being sent by the BSP?  Another way to check is to use MIDIOX (if you are on Windows).  Select the BSP as your incoming MIDI source then open the MIDI monitor then turn the knobs.  It'll give a constant stream of data it receives from the BSP.
Currently running synths from Waldorf and Arturia, Drumsynths from Korg, MAM and IK Multimedia, sequencing it all with Arturia's looping steppers, mixing and recording it all with a Zoom (no DAW involved, for better or worse ;) )

hiro

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #7 on: Today at 04:01:52 am »
yes data appears in the MIDI CONSOLE with the right channel.

I'm on MAC..

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Karma: 37
  • GAS BAGGER
Re: mapping Volca keys parameter on my BSP
« Reply #8 on: Today at 01:23:49 pm »
Okay had a play around with the Controller map and I think there maybe one last bit we missed attending to and that is, the store to part!  I forgot to mention that after assigning the CC's to the knobs in MCC, you need to then tell MCC to store the map to your BSP by hitting the "Store To" button in between the two project browsers on the left!  I usually only amend the Drum Map and for some reason that is automatically sent to the BSP without the need to use the Store To button.  Now that would explain why your screen shot is showing Ch14 CC10 Pan being transmitted when you turn Knob 1.
Currently running synths from Waldorf and Arturia, Drumsynths from Korg, MAM and IK Multimedia, sequencing it all with Arturia's looping steppers, mixing and recording it all with a Zoom (no DAW involved, for better or worse ;) )

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines