September 17, 2021, 03:34:28 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: How to loop one set of steps at a time?  (Read 2275 times)

gumbo23

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
How to loop one set of steps at a time?
« on: May 18, 2017, 06:12:25 pm »
I have a 64-step pattern, but want to loop and work on one set of 16 notes at a time.

At the moment I have to listen through the whole piece every time I need to adjust anything in a pattern.

So how do I loop a given pattern?

megamarkd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 838
  • Karma: 38
  • Dead By Dawn
Re: How to loop one set of steps at a time?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 06:21:07 am »
You can't.  You can work on the first 16 then copy them to the next 3 sets of 16, but that is all.  It can be a bit annoying if you want to punch-in some notes as playing along will overwrite the previously recorded notes; you have to try to come in on the first beat of the 16 you want to record (or program).  Oh well, it's meant I needed to get better at playing to get it right the first time.  My finger drumming has become better as a result, so really the lack of focused loops has increased my skills in an area.
Currently running https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1311723 / www.modulargrid.net, sequencing with KSP and recording with a Zoom (no DAW involved, for better or worse ;) )

I grec

  • Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Karma: 24
Re: How to loop one set of steps at a time?
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 05:54:19 pm »
Hi megamarkd,
For this purpose, you can make a chain.
You have a 64-step pattern -> you split it into 4 x 16-step patterns, then you chain those 4 patterns.

Best,
Y.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines