May 07, 2021, 09:12:52 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: ARP - Up-Down  (Read 1527 times)

Kearley

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 3
ARP - Up-Down
« on: May 04, 2017, 02:35:35 am »
Is the Up-Down mode of the arp locked into repeating the top and bottom notes?     1-3-5-5-3-1-1-3-5, etc.   

I wish it wasn't.. or I wish it was optional.

D

tp

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 3
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2017, 06:36:19 am »
Agreed, this setting (often referred to as "up-down inclusive," as opposed to "up-down exclusive," in which the outer notes are not repeated) should not be mandatory. Given the implementation with a dedicated button, however, this may be difficult to change via firmware update.

BobTheDog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Karma: 21
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2017, 02:57:11 pm »
Can't you just edit the arp pattern to be how you want it or am I missing something?

Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: 22
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2017, 10:46:18 am »
Yes, for now the best way would be to use the Matrix Arpeggiator for that, and to program the note order manually.

If you set it like in the picture I attached, you should get a up down exclusive pattern when playing a 4 note chords. For a 3 note chord you just have to keep it under the 4th line. Make sure to set the Sequence length is set accordingly to loop it right

That said I am logging this our our side as a feature request; we will consider this for potential future firmware updates

Thanks !


Kearley

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 3
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2017, 05:43:23 am »
Thanks. Ya, the arp seq does work.. but limited to 4 note right?  I love doing big spread multiple note arps. 

No prob.. I'm sure I can make it work between the arp seq and using an external arp.

D

Supervillain

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2017, 03:47:37 pm »
+1 on this feature request.

Same with the sequencer...
There's maybe a way to just switch to the prefered behaviour in the midi center (i mean not nessecarly right on the hardware) ?

PES

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 2
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2017, 07:04:34 pm »
Just a +1 that I think exclusive would be preferrable.

That matrix arpeggiator though.  :o

Kearley

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 3
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2017, 07:09:27 pm »
The Arp-Seq is super cool... but the current firmware is not great in that regard for me... I can't edit values with the knob unless I hit some key combination. (documented elsewhere on this forum)

Once this is sorted out, I could play around with that forever.

D

Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: 22
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2017, 05:41:29 pm »

I can't edit values with the knob unless I hit some key combination. (documented elsewhere on this forum)

Once this is sorted out, I could play around with that forever.

D

Hi,

What feature are you referring to ? Are you talking about the SEQ MOD track ?

Kearley

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 3
Re: ARP - Up-Down
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2017, 07:09:32 pm »
Ya, editing values in the SeqMod track.     

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines