September 23, 2021, 08:17:21 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Can the 2600 seq do triplet time or 1/24 quantise?  (Read 1241 times)

itsthenoise

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Can the 2600 seq do triplet time or 1/24 quantise?
« on: April 11, 2017, 06:53:23 pm »
I've got a song in Logic that's in 1/24 quantise in 4/4 and I'm wondering how I can get the seq in the 2600 to sync? Is it possible?

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.918
  • Karma: 46
Re: Can the 2600 seq do triplet time or 1/24 quantise?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 10:13:06 pm »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

You can use the GATE BUS switches, - the FM setting (by standard i believe it's hardwired to bus 1), - and for example the SKIP or RESET function setting for bus 3, - and the TEMPO setting to get some rythmic results.
(Also you have the MIDI sync switch (missing a label at the moment.))

In your example i think you for example could do something like this:
1. Set the ARP sequencer to run 3 times tempo, the FM to no modulation, and use 3, 6 or 12 sequencer steps by using SKIP/ RESET function on Bus 3 for the steps that's not used/ or to return to step 1. In this case if you for example use 12 steps then when it run twice it's 24 steps but as 2 x 12 steps.

or
2. Set it to run in Tempo and then use 3, 6 or 12 sequencer steps with the FM set to 3 times Tempo and only use Bus

or
3. Set it to run in Tempo and use different busses and use the FM set to 6. Then each step on bus 1 play a 1/24 note, the notes on bus 2 play 1/4 note, and if you use the SKIP function the steps on bus 3 is skipped.

I have done this in my head only. I can only say that i would try things like this out to see how it works. I'm not an expert. I can only suggest you experiment and are creative.

Perhaps someone have tried to do the things you wan't to do and can chip in.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2017, 10:16:48 pm by LBH »

itsthenoise

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can the 2600 seq do triplet time or 1/24 quantise?
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2017, 03:53:21 pm »
Thank you for this. It worked a treat!

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.918
  • Karma: 46
Re: Can the 2600 seq do triplet time or 1/24 quantise?
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2017, 05:55:27 pm »
Great.
Thanks for reporting back.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines