April 20, 2024, 09:40:15 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: is keylab 88 right for me?  (Read 2688 times)

shawnsBrain66

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
is keylab 88 right for me?
« on: March 24, 2017, 05:27:47 pm »
So I'm an old-timer (I'm 50). I was a professional, touring musician for many years in the 80's and 90's, then left to raise my family. The kids are old enough that I can now start to play live music again, so I'm looking at updating some gear.

What I want is a piano-like keybed on a midi controller, so I can have 1 or 2 keyboards on stage and others off stage controlled via midi.  I want to be able to pre-program virtual patches, so when I choose "patch 1" on my controller, all the keyboards in my midi chain respond accordingly.  I want to be able to split the keyboard (e.g.: piano sounds on top 44, strings on the bottom 44 from 2 different keyboards). Lastly, the push of everything towards USB concerns me. Will I be forced to have a laptop on stage?

Thanks for your input.

Eric Barker

• Progrock/metal Keyboards & Sound Design
Re: is keylab 88 right for me?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2017, 12:29:26 am »
The Keylab can do all that, and has a great keybed. It has dedicated MIDI IN/OUTs, so you don't need to use USB, so you can tie it in with rack gear or other synths. Obviously the bulk of users are using it with a computer (as am I), but you don't need to, and it's perfectly capable of going without.

As for patch changes, you'll probably want to do that at the source (rack mount?), but you can customize the Kaylabs buttons to send patch changes too. This would pretty much be true with any controller you buy.

ClydeLyman

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2017, 11:55:29 pm »
What I want to do is this:
1. primarily live performance, which means does the bundled Analog Lab 2 operate in standalone mode?
2. After the fashion of the Tyros 5 or Korg PA 4x, meaning styles or drum patterns
4. DAW