July 08, 2020, 03:30:02 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Undocumented stuff in the Midi control center  (Read 1016 times)

khidr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 13
  • Music is everything
Undocumented stuff in the Midi control center
« on: February 01, 2017, 05:21:16 pm »
There's something rather important that the Manual fails to mention. I discovered this by accident when I wanted to clear a whole row of presets to store my own new sounds.
I began to delete a sound using "panel->preset". Everything seemed to work ok at first; i got the initialised sound preset. But when I returned to this preset later it again contained the factory sound. Erasing presets only works on the bottom row of the matrix!
So:  If you want to use the other positions of the preset matrix you have to start a new project in the midi control center with empty presets and send this new project to the MatrixBrute.

Another thing, which is more of a feature not mentioned in the manual is that it is possible to copy sounds from one saved project to another. This makes sense only if your project is in list view mode;
suppose you want to copy a sound from project device_2 to project device_4:
Select device_2
select the preset you want to move
drag it to device_4 and hover there until the list view changes to display the device_4 presets
now drag your preset to a device_4 preset location and drop it there. In a similar way you can can drag and drop rows of presets from one project to another

The easiest way to collect and assemble a new project from existing projects is to create an empty new project and drag it to the matrixbrute (you did save you existing preset on the matrixbrute did you?) and then drag individual presets or rows of preset from the computer side to the matrixbrute. Once you're finished constructing your new preset collection recall it to the computer.

An interesting option that I intend to explore further is that is it possible to copy only the sequences over from MB to Computer and vice versa. In theory this enables you to start with a blank preset matrix and to construct dozens of different sequences that you can all test with one sound. Set the save mode option in the Midi control center to "sequence only" and you start building a sequence only library.

A question to people still working with an older firmware revision (mine is 1.0.1.108):  I seem to remember that an older firmware version allowed you to view which presets contained sequences and which did not just be pressing the patters knob when in preset mode. It seems to have disappeared when I upgraded.. anyone still have this option?

An option that I think should be included in the next version of the Midi control center is "renaming" projects. "device_2" and "device_3" ....it's all rather nondescript and vague. It does not give you a clue as to what presets or sequences a project contains. I tried to outsmart this limitation by exporting the project, giving it a nice descriptive name and then reimporting it. Nope...that does not do the trick; the midi control center will rename your project to something none descript again. Bummer.....
This makes it very hard to exchange saved projects with others or, as a sound developer to create new projects and sell them online.








-------------------------------------------------
www.soundcloud.com/khidr

Vic-tor

  • Sound designer & Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 22
Re: Undocumented stuff in the Midi control center
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 06:23:20 pm »
Hi !

Several questions here, I'll try to answer them the best I can.




 Erasing presets only works on the bottom row of the matrix!
So:  If you want to use the other positions of the preset matrix you have to start a new project in the midi control center with empty presets and send this new project to the MatrixBrute.



It looks like your "Memory Protect" switch is still set to "On". If it's the case, all presets that are tagged as "Factory" can not be overwritten.



Another thing, which is more of a feature not mentioned in the manual is that it is possible to copy sounds from one saved project to another.


True, this is something that could be added to the manual. Will look into this being done. I believe this feature is explained in the tutorial video though :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QWnvxvHg67U




 I seem to remember that an older firmware version allowed you to view which presets contained sequences and which did not just be pressing the patters knob when in preset mode. It seems to have disappeared when I upgraded.. anyone still have this option?



I have ran a fair share of different firmware versions during testing and I do not remember seeing nor knowing about this feature being implemented. I may be wrong though ! Anyway this could be interesting to have, I'll make sure it is listed on our side.




An option that I think should be included in the next version of the Midi control center is "renaming" projects. "device_2" and "device_3" ....it's all rather nondescript and vague. It does not give you a clue as to what presets or sequences a project contains.


It is actually possible to rename a project !

Select the project you want to rename, and then double click on the textbox that displays the name of the project (see picture enclosed), you'll be able to change the name

Hope it helps !  :)


 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines