March 29, 2024, 03:10:51 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Mine has arrived!  (Read 3018 times)

Andy Tillison

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Mine has arrived!
« on: January 06, 2017, 12:33:03 pm »
Hi - I appreciate that I am lucky and have mine and that there are others waiting. This is not to crow - rather to tell you a little about the first day's experiences with it

First of all - I LOVE it. But the most important word in that last sentence was "I" and realise that there are so many different kinds of players, programmers, operators that one man's meat may be another ones poison. So here's who is giving you this early "review"

I have been playing synthesisers since 1978 when I bought a Yamaha CS30. Since then I have made over 30 albums with synths and have owned (among others) an original Model D from 72, an Odyssey, an Axxe, an MS20 a CS15 & 30, a Pro 1, a Voyager a Supernova 2 an MS2000b and an SH101.  If I still owned all these I would be a potentially rich man and I am not in that position sadly.... I have used the Arturia software VSTis extensively and really rate them and side by side tests I conducted with the Model D and the MinimoogV were to my ears 100 percent convincing. I realise there will be those who don't agree.

Most of you reading this will be aware of the long waiting time we've had for these Matrixbrutes. I paid for mine in FULL 6 months ago and have nearly finished the album it was going to play a central role on. Now fortunately there will still be time for it to speak - just not as much as I'd hoped.  This review is going to try to forget that long frustrating wait which would have been made so much easier with more regular and honest information from Arturia. Never mind - let's move on.