September 17, 2021, 02:54:03 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Roller into Sequencer  (Read 3097 times)

AndrewBloom

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Roller into Sequencer
« on: November 20, 2016, 11:19:16 pm »
Is there any workaround to record drums into the drum sequence using the roller function?
Would be super cool to record 16th hi hat just pressing the hihat button and the 1/16th on the roller! (just to name the most basic one) by the way what's the point to have the looper working while record is on?
Any chance this function could be implemented on the next fw updates or is it incompatible with how the sequencer stores the notes internally?

if resolution of sequencer needs to be greater or equal than the maximum usable looper one we can set the resolution of the sequencer to 1/32th and that's it.
it could be another parameter of the information about the step on the sequencer, read post below.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2016, 07:48:28 pm by AndrewBloom »

AndrewBloom

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Re: Roller into Sequencer
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2016, 07:43:46 pm »
Actually your developers should add a field in the structure of the sequencer step, like:

struct seq_step {
unsigned char note;
unsigned short offset; // drag or rush, type depends on the resolution
unsigned char velocity;
....
unsigned char roller; // 3 bits should be enough, from 0: no roll, 1: 1/4, 2: 1/8, etc. what about shift + roller for triplets?
};

Why don't you give me access to the git repo that i implement it by myself?

:P

AndrewBloom

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Re: Roller into Sequencer
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2016, 07:56:12 pm »
other functions:

1) shift + roller for rolling triplets                                                                                          |   |   |   |                                             |     |   |
2) shift + [whatever key] + roller: edit the rolling group on the pads, like if normal roller is   o| o| o| o|  you could set for example   o| z o| o|  (ok, i'm an ascii artist)


sealion

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: Roller into Sequencer
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2017, 04:29:03 am »
Excellent ideas.  I can do this with hi hats on the drumbrute in record.

I grec

  • Firmware Wizard
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Karma: 24
Re: Roller into Sequencer
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2017, 10:16:14 am »
Hi all,
Quote
Is there any workaround to record drums into the drum sequence using the roller function?
This is possible in FW v2.0.

Regards,
Y.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines