December 03, 2021, 11:48:53 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.  (Read 1425 times)

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.942
  • Karma: 49
Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.
« on: October 17, 2016, 03:18:16 pm »
Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.
An example is the "Underwater PAD" by Glen Darcy. It crackle a little in V2 but it don't in V.
Would be nice to get fixed.

Tausendberg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 6
Re: Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2016, 05:24:29 am »
Ever suspect that Arturia is spreading themselves thin?

I mean, suddenly, out of nowhere, they release the Drumbrute, even though they just released the MatrixBrute what seems like less than a month ago and AudioFuse is just around the corner and V Collection 5 dropped, in my opinion in a rather unfinished state, in June.

I mean, without counting Analog Lab, Arturia has 16 VSTs on the market right now, the keylab range and several other midi controllers, 4 differently currently supported hardware instruments, and the audiofuse...

Given how buggy a lot of the aforementioned products are (I've never tried any of their hardware, is the hardware buggy too or do they at least make that reliably? The keylab 88 still has a few bugs they've been slow to address...) I think Arturia is shaping themselves up to be a case study of why a company should focus on fewer products that are well defined and supported.

Sorry, just rethinking my relationship with this brand...

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.942
  • Karma: 49
Re: Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2016, 08:51:26 pm »
No need to be sorry about your reflections Tausenberg. It's understandable.
Many of my thoughts and opinions you can read about both in the old and the new forum, as you allready know.
I have more thoughts and opinions, but far to many to write here.

corum_beasley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: 3
Re: Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2017, 01:50:18 pm »
HI LBH, I have the Matrix V2 now and the underwater pad is really nice.

Not had time yet to go through them all as i have it for less than a week but the pad volume on launch is 0.398 at this volume i here no crackle and up to 0.726, though i do hear crackle at 0.810.

I currently use an Aiwa AV-NW30 amp which is an ancient 5.1 amp but works well for my purposes. It does have a useful feature though,an overload indicator, which flashes when i here the crackle.

So is this digital distortion? I dont hear the crackle through my headphones connected to my Komplete 6. My speakers are JBL Control 1c's and i often wonder whether there is too much bass for the midrange drivers and that could be a cause of the crackle? I don't know for sure though? What you think?

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.942
  • Karma: 49
Re: Matrix V2 seems to crackle a little.
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2017, 05:25:50 pm »
Hi Corum_beasley,

Thanks for your input.

After some new testing i have edited this post.

It's mostly clicking and sometmes a very subtle crackling.
Looks like it's on sounds with a low frequency setting. But perhaps it can be something else.
Perhaps it's about notes with long releases that's being cut off - perhaps blended with attack clicks. That could explain the clicks but not the crackles i sometimes experience when notes is held.
The crackles could perhaps have something to do with high resonance settings, but that's not allways the case. Perhaps also the effects - perhaps especially the delay can have something to do with it.
I think it's hard to pin point without being able to test it using tools for each part.
Now i remember that was why i did'nt tell that much when i reported. I just experience this.
But then i did'nt hear anything in Matrix V. I do now. I can't explain why.

I also have Komplete Audio 6. I hear this in my very good headphones thru KA6.
I'm sure some monitors and headphones can have issues.
Do you suggest any of this is responsible?

I do think the software has at least something to do with this. But if it's a bug it's hard to tell. But it's annoying for calm sounds like Underwater Pad.


« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 02:35:00 am by LBH »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines