November 30, 2021, 12:26:07 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?  (Read 3756 times)

Wookiee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: 0
    • The 4077
V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« on: June 28, 2016, 04:11:38 pm »
Does the converter delete the presets from the V4 collection or does it just convert them and place them in the new presets location for the V5 collection?
This post may or may not contain errors of an indeterminate nature.
Arturia Synths: Modular V. ARP 2600V, CS 80V, Prophet V. Mini V, Jupiter 8V, Spark VDM, Analogue Lab, Analogue Laboratory
Tunes https://soundcloud.com/wookiee-4077

Sam

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: 39
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2016, 04:20:23 pm »
Hi Wookiee,

The converter keeps the V-Collection 4 presets untouched.
It only converts them and automatically save the resulting presets in the V-Collection 5 presets location.

Best,
Sam
Software engineer
Arturia

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.934
  • Karma: 49
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2016, 01:15:04 am »
What happens when i activate the preset converters .exe file?
will it automaticly convert all my presets?
Or will it - as i prefere it to do - install a application where i manually can select a saved Preset file or Bank file (Not from the hidden imported preset files inProgramData but form another folder where i have my exports) . and only convert what i wan't to convert one by one if i wan't too?

If it autoamaticly converts everything then it can be a mess. Especially if things has to be re-organised as i understand it need to and when the save procedures is'nt functioning as they should.

Can the factory presets be converted?
Will the factoury presets if so be converted automaticticly? And how about doubbles as many old factory presets allready is in VC5?

An article and perhaps a movie about this would be useful.

Best

jeffbart

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 13
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2016, 06:26:37 am »
In my Mac experience it identifies all Collection 4 apps' non factory presets and lets you toggle which ones to convert-then-add into the Collection 5 preset list. I used it a few times, even down to converting just a single preset.
--
jeffrey
cubase 9.0.40
the amazing Modartt Pianoteq
Arturia things
tc electronic konnekt 24d

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.934
  • Karma: 49
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2016, 01:21:06 pm »
In my Mac experience it identifies all Collection 4 apps' non factory presets and lets you toggle which ones to convert-then-add into the Collection 5 preset list. I used it a few times, even down to converting just a single preset.

Thanks for your info.

Looks like it can be a controlled process on how many preset's and when to convert then.

Is it your your exported presets and presets banks you can select to convert?

I'm on PC. Would be nice if it works the same on Windows.

Best

Germain.arturia

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 369
  • Karma: 15
  • arturia test team
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2016, 01:24:58 pm »
Hi everyone,
Just to be clear, The preset converter process goes like this :

- You have a disclaimer on opening
- Clicking on "Scan" will scan USER presets from VC4 instruments you own. Note these presets will show up if you have VC5 instruments installed.
- Once the scan is done, every bank/ preset is default ticked, you're free to tick or untick what you like.
- Then, pressing convert will launch the converting process, this step is fast.
- At the end you'll see the number of presets successfully converted, and maybe some modified/renamed ( reasons explained on the opening disclaimer)

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.934
  • Karma: 49
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2016, 01:24:53 am »
Thanks Germain.

Best

Germain.arturia

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 369
  • Karma: 15
  • arturia test team
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2016, 09:32:50 am »

Quote
Is it your your exported presets and presets banks you can select to convert?

sorry, forgot some explanations on this point.
the preset converter will search only presets/banks you created and saved. it won't consider exported ones. The reason is because the converter is searching inside vc4 software resources, where your created ( but not exported) presets/banks are located.

Best,

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.934
  • Karma: 49
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2016, 01:46:21 pm »
Thanks Germain,

Kind of figured that out, as i did think the converter would check my whole system to find out if i had exported presets.
But thanks for the claryfication. That can allways be useful to get.

The important thing is you can see and select each indivivdual preset you wan't to convert. At that i understand i can.
And then i can run the process as many times i like.

Best

Wookiee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: 0
    • The 4077
Re: V4-V5 presets- What does the converter do?
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2016, 06:24:33 pm »
Thanks for all the replies good peeps of the Arturia forums.
This post may or may not contain errors of an indeterminate nature.
Arturia Synths: Modular V. ARP 2600V, CS 80V, Prophet V. Mini V, Jupiter 8V, Spark VDM, Analogue Lab, Analogue Laboratory
Tunes https://soundcloud.com/wookiee-4077

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines