April 26, 2024, 05:11:34 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Questions from an Original Synclavier Owner  (Read 3417 times)

George Pepper

Questions from an Original Synclavier Owner
« on: June 07, 2016, 04:27:54 pm »
I just cut and pasted this from my post on the GS forum, with some edits:

Greetings, I just joined to reply to this thread. A little history first:

I'm one of the original Synclavier II Digital Guitar guys who bought my first system in 1983, which was the year I graduated from Berklee. I kept up with hardware and software until 1988, by which time I had two systems linked together for a total of 48 stereo additive/FM voices. I was never interested in sampling, so NED and I parted ways after 1989, but I kept my system all the way until 2004, when I parted it out, figuring the Synclavier would end up an app in my Mac. That never happened, so I bought more Synclaviers starting in 2012. I currently have two complete systems for a total of 64 voices, and I'm headed for three systems and 96 voices... and now this.

Nothing ever replaced the Synclavier for me, and there was a huge hole in my life without one. None of the additive or FM software synths ever did anything for me. At all. They all sound dead as a doornail to me, and nothing - but nothing - can replace the four partials of additive combined with FM ratios that can be tweaked in tiny increments for very awesome phasing effects. So naturally, I'm super-duper interested in this!

Here's the rub: The original 8-bit Synclavier sound was, in large part, due to the DAC's. Without them, there's your dead sound.