December 08, 2019, 05:23:30 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Phaser stomp box request  (Read 2463 times)

Oli P

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Phaser stomp box request
« on: May 21, 2016, 06:47:20 pm »
I'm kinda baffled that you make a Rhodes VI and leave out the phaser pedal.  ???  ...Especially since you already had one in the Wurlie.
Actually I'd wish you'd port all the FX from the Wurlitzer ...including the graphic EQ and reverb.  ...It's just way cooler than those on the Rhodes now.

jackn2mpu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: -2
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 08:53:55 pm »
I'm kinda baffled that you make a Rhodes VI and leave out the phaser pedal.  ???  ...Especially since you already had one in the Wurlie.
Actually I'd wish you'd port all the FX from the Wurlitzer ...including the graphic EQ and reverb.  ...It's just way cooler than those on the Rhodes now.
To me the Rhodes emulation is kind of sad - there's so much missing, particularly the overall sound. Lacks guts.
de N2MPU Jack FN20
Proud NRA Life member

Oli P

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2016, 09:46:24 pm »
I was able to create some presets I like ...just takes some patience and attention to detail.
There's a lot you can tweak...I just miss the eq and phaser.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.509
  • Karma: 50
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2016, 04:02:22 pm »
This is from the sales site:
"Effects pedals
Kick in a swirling phaser or flanger, fatten up with a shimmering chorus, rock out with compression and overdrive, and get spacey with analog delay. You can even use the expression pedal for volume or wah—or set a funky auto-wah. The Stage-73 has all the effects you need to create a sound that’s all your own."
https://www.arturia.com/stage-73-v/details

Is'nt all this included - including the swirling Phaser?

Perhaps this sales text is incorrect.

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 18
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2016, 05:16:06 pm »
The Stage-73 does include a Phaser.  The Volume pedal slot can be changed to a Wah pedal or an Auto-wah.  Then there are four effect "slots" where you can choose to order any of the six effects:  Flanger, Phaser, Chorus, Analog Delay, Compressor, or Overdrive.  To compare, the Wurli includes a Vocal Filter and Pitch-shift Chorus which isn't currently implemented in the Stage-73.  Although not as fancy, the Stage model does have a reverb knob on the guitar amp.


Oli P

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2016, 09:15:41 pm »
The Stage-73 does include a Phaser.  The Volume pedal slot can be changed to a Wah pedal or an Auto-wah.  Then there are four effect "slots" where you can choose to order any of the six effects:  Flanger, Phaser, Chorus, Analog Delay, Compressor, or Overdrive.  To compare, the Wurli includes a Vocal Filter and Pitch-shift Chorus which isn't currently implemented in the Stage-73.  Although not as fancy, the Stage model does have a reverb knob on the guitar amp.

Ok my bad...didn't notice that you can click on the effects and find the hidden ones behind.
But something is strange with the phaser!? ..Can't get it to blend very well, and the rate needs to be set very high to even kick in...but then it acts very strange  :-\

The suitcase needs the reverb and eq most ...the stage model has all the amp features that can get you somewhere.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2016, 09:18:33 pm by Oli P »

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 18
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2016, 08:47:03 pm »
But something is strange with the phaser!? ..Can't get it to blend very well, and the rate needs to be set very high to even kick in...but then it acts very strange  :-\

Yeah, I don't know if the Phaser unit is supposed to be more subtle or what.  It certainly doesn't sound the same as the Wurli Phaser.

martinl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: 2
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2016, 11:39:55 pm »
But something is strange with the phaser!? ..Can't get it to blend very well, and the rate needs to be set very high to even kick in...but then it acts very strange  :-\

Yeah, I don't know if the Phaser unit is supposed to be more subtle or what.  It certainly doesn't sound the same as the Wurli Phaser.

In particular without the Stereo width, it is hardly noticeable.

jackn2mpu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: -2
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2016, 12:20:12 pm »
But something is strange with the phaser!? ..Can't get it to blend very well, and the rate needs to be set very high to even kick in...but then it acts very strange  :-\

Yeah, I don't know if the Phaser unit is supposed to be more subtle or what.  It certainly doesn't sound the same as the Wurli Phaser.
A lot depends on exactly what phaser Arturia modeled. Some real world phasers only have a speed control (MXR Phase 90 for one), some have a very limited depth and width controls (MXR Phase 100), and some have a full complement of controls for speed, depth, width, number of stages, etc.
de N2MPU Jack FN20
Proud NRA Life member

George Ware

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 9
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2016, 04:19:08 pm »
I use AudioDamage's PhaseTwo (AD's version of the Mu-Tron Bi-Phase) http://www.audiodamage.com/effects/product.php?pid=AD008
A whole new ball of wax!  ;D

jackn2mpu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: -2
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2016, 07:00:02 pm »
I use AudioDamage's PhaseTwo (AD's version of the Mu-Tron Bi-Phase) http://www.audiodamage.com/effects/product.php?pid=AD008
A whole new ball of wax!  ;D
Finally - hope it's good (and better than the Mutron III emulation that IKMM did). I had the good fortune to work for the company (Musitronics) that made the original at the time it was in development. It was still in breadboard stage when I was there and we tried all kinds of different things with the routing and such. Did final test and repair of the original Phaser and Mutron stomp boxes. Besides the usual vom's and 'scopes my test equipment was a Fender Strat and Twin Reverb.
de N2MPU Jack FN20
Proud NRA Life member

George Ware

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 9
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2016, 01:03:40 am »
I use AudioDamage's PhaseTwo (AD's version of the Mu-Tron Bi-Phase) http://www.audiodamage.com/effects/product.php?pid=AD008
A whole new ball of wax!  ;D
Finally - hope it's good (and better than the Mutron III emulation that IKMM did). I had the good fortune to work for the company (Musitronics) that made the original at the time it was in development. It was still in breadboard stage when I was there and we tried all kinds of different things with the routing and such. Did final test and repair of the original Phaser and Mutron stomp boxes. Besides the usual vom's and 'scopes my test equipment was a Fender Strat and Twin Reverb.
How did the AudioDamage PhaseTwo work for you?

jackn2mpu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: -2
Re: Phaser stomp box request
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2016, 02:40:35 am »
I use AudioDamage's PhaseTwo (AD's version of the Mu-Tron Bi-Phase) http://www.audiodamage.com/effects/product.php?pid=AD008
A whole new ball of wax!  ;D
Finally - hope it's good (and better than the Mutron III emulation that IKMM did). I had the good fortune to work for the company (Musitronics) that made the original at the time it was in development. It was still in breadboard stage when I was there and we tried all kinds of different things with the routing and such. Did final test and repair of the original Phaser and Mutron stomp boxes. Besides the usual vom's and 'scopes my test equipment was a Fender Strat and Twin Reverb.
How did the AudioDamage PhaseTwo work for you?
I've not had much of a chance to work with it as my production system has developed some problems I'm trying to chase through. Funny coincidence - I did see a BiPhase at the local Guitar Center but they wanted more money than I could afford to part with and I didn't feel like selling one of my Strats to buy it. More when I know more.
de N2MPU Jack FN20
Proud NRA Life member

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines