March 29, 2024, 04:00:07 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Very new to soft synths - Questions  (Read 3179 times)

SamSnyderMusic

Very new to soft synths - Questions
« on: January 21, 2016, 10:53:59 pm »
Hey all,
My name is Sam Snyder, very new to using any soft synth technology, but the owner of a Roland HS60, Alpha Juno1, Korg Poly800, MircoKorg, Casio CZ1000, and a few other things here and there, so my background has always focused around relatively analog technology, and instant gratification.

The other day I purchased an Arturia Keylab 49, to hopefully replace bringing a lot of synths to shows for the few songs I need them on (I am primarily a guitarist in a few bands, but when it calls for a synth I can probably make something work). I have successfully gotten the synth to function within Logic and have a MacBook Pro that I intend to bring out with me to live shows where I can save presets that I will scupt at home modeling them after the hardware synths I mentioned above that I use.

Here are some questions I have regarding setup and functionality:
-How do I save a preset with designated chords and tone? for instance, if I use preset called Dual 80's in Analog Lab (it sounds a lot like my Poly800), is there a way for me to save that as a separate tone for a song that I can label, that has chords saved to the pads? It seems like a super simple request, but again, my lack of knowledge of this has me a little baffled, I save a preset, and when I recall it, I get the tone back, but all my saved pad controls are gone. I read the manual as well, but I felt a little out of place.
- Second question, can the pads be latching, non momentary? This might come in handy some times.