January 20, 2021, 10:31:34 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Swing function not working as expected.  (Read 8438 times)

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2015, 06:13:24 pm »
Saying it is subtle means that it is not a very obvious difference but that there is a difference.  Yes I have recorded the notes produced and Yes they show a variance at each of the 4 values.

I say again - it may be just your MB or maybe your DAW is quantizing the slices IDK.

Why do you need to slice? Why not just line up the first note on the grid and read the timing directly?


ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2015, 06:17:29 pm »
Quote
Saying it is subtle means that it is not a very obvious difference but that there is a difference.

Thanks for explaining that. I had no idea.

Quote
I say again - it may be just your MB or maybe your DAW is quantizing the slices IDK.

It may just be my MB. The slices are definitely not quantised.

Quote
Why do you need to slice?

To accurately show where each note lands.

Quote
Why not just line up the first note on the grid and read the timing directly?

I have no idea what you mean by this but please don't explain it to me.

If you have anything useful to add please do.

ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2015, 07:15:37 pm »
Yes! Here too  I don't notice anything being swung from the first two positions whilst the 3rd and 4th positions do seem to be the same amount of swing!?

hmmm, very strange.  I am also on the latest frimware and update.

Sounds like it isn't just my MB.

It is easy to convince yourself you're hearing a 'subtle' difference but it only really counts if you measure it accurately.

I think it is highly likely that they're all like it.

« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 10:55:21 pm by ottsonic »

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2015, 01:20:28 pm »
Ok, it seems like you are correct ottsonic!

The swing does NOT change between 1 and 2 or 3 and 4 when using 16ths.

My previous measurments where incorrect as the division setting was wrong! I got confused because my sequencer changes its behaviour according to how the note length knob is set - when set to the shortest value the sequencer only goes up to 1/16th div at the highest val, wheras if the note length knob is set to medium or longer the sequencer will go to 1/32 div.

Anyway -  there is no difference in the swing at 1/16th between 1 and 2 or 3 and 4. 1 and 2 are the same = no swing. 3 and 4 are the same = some swing.

This old thread relates to the arp on the MB but seems to bear relevance to this behaviour
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=12515.msg31553#msg31553


ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2015, 05:03:17 pm »
EDIT: It turns out it's just a limitation of the design.

Fortunately the swing amount available at 16th level is probably about optimum for my taste.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 08:27:51 pm by ottsonic »

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2015, 05:16:55 pm »
No problem, you are definiteley right about the swing not working right!

On another note do you see the option to start a new topic here in the Minibrute section of the forum?

 I cannot find any way to do this and need to find out if anyone else experiences an intermittent crackling/hissing sound when turning  some of the knobs especially the LFO amp knob and LFO rate?

Sorry to hijack but I can't find a way to start a new thread!

ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2015, 05:21:03 pm »
This old thread relates to the arp on the MB but seems to bear relevance to this behaviour
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=12515.msg31553#msg31553

Yes, it appears to be a limitation of the design.

Quote
You're right, it's a limitation of the arppeggiator.
As midi clock messages are sent 24 time by quarter notes, at 1/16, available time subdivisions are limited to 3: 50%, 66% and 83%.

Quote
On another note do you see the option to start a new topic here in the Minibrute section of the forum?

No I can't - which is strange because I must have found it before to post my topic.

Maybe Terrym can shed some light on that for you.

ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2015, 02:05:50 pm »
EDIT - I feel such a dick.

Arturia replied to my enquiry really promptly and explained the issue.

Unfortunately my email program was having a bad day and sending out emails from an account that I don't use any more and don't monitor. Consequently their replies were going to the wrong inbox.

My apologies to Arturia and their support staff. I hate to be one of those arseholes giving you a hard time when you don't deserve it.

Great synth.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 08:26:28 pm by ottsonic »

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2015, 02:28:57 pm »
Geez! I feel for you, I too am in a quandry with support.

I had correspondance with Terrym regarding the noise I experience when adjusting the LFO amp.

He replied quite promptly to say it was the same on his MB but that he feels it is normal.

David at support came back to me today suggesting that I send it in for repair to replace the connector board which contains the switches!? He also wrote that it would cost 42.77 euros plus shipping costs!?

Id really appreciate if you could let me know if this happens with your SE too ottosonic?

Could you just give the LFO amp knob a few turns around max and min values with all osc's turned down and see if you hear a scratchy hiss come and go?  Much obliged sir.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 02:32:58 pm by Chi »

ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #24 on: January 20, 2015, 02:38:26 pm »
I just did and I think I know what you mean.

Try it with the 'Brute factor' knob turned down to zero and see if it still does it.

On mine, with the 'Brute Factor' turned up anywhere past 9 o'clock, applying LFO to amp at extreme '+' or '-' settings causes a grating noise which is obviously just the feedback circuit kicking in and normal behaviour.

With 'Brute factor' at zero it is completely smooth.



EDIT: By the way, the forum 'New Topic' button appears to be back...
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 02:41:11 pm by ottsonic »

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2015, 04:14:43 pm »
Thanks otto!

Brute factor is completely zeroed and still scratchy noises - looks like a faulty brute then. Damn.

Well thanks for that.

Here is an example- no brutefactor, no osc's (still high pitch wine) and just turning lfo amp.

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #26 on: January 29, 2015, 08:54:40 pm »
EDIT - I feel such a dick.

Arturia replied to my enquiry really promptly and explained the issue.

Unfortunately my email program was having a bad day and sending out emails from an account that I don't use any more and don't monitor. Consequently their replies were going to the wrong inbox.

My apologies to Arturia and their support staff. I hate to be one of those arseholes giving you a hard time when you don't deserve it.

Great synth.

Good to hear you had some success!  What was the explanation in the end? Forget that, just saw your edited post!
« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 08:57:38 pm by Chi »

ottsonic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: -3
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #27 on: January 29, 2015, 09:00:47 pm »
As it was explained in Terrym's earlier post.

It's to do with the way the sequencer is clocked and the number of available divisions per note.

Fortunately the available swing setting at 16th note is pretty useable.

To me anyway.

Did you find an answer to your noise issue?

Chi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: -26
Re: Swing function not working as expected.
« Reply #28 on: January 29, 2015, 10:46:58 pm »
Yeah, Ive had to return it to the store for repairs unfortunatley.  David from support confirmed that it needs one of the boards replacing by their techs.

I miss the little brute already. :-[

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines