February 18, 2018, 11:49:18 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4  (Read 2425 times)

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 710
  • Karma: 27
Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« on: December 04, 2014, 06:22:50 pm »
So, V Collection V 4 has just landed and for the most part it's a big thumbs up. The Solina V is worth the upgrade on it's own.

Butů

The Laboratory 61 with Analogue Laboratory software no longer supports V4 plug ins, so therefore nothing is detected when you open the software. Meaning that you can no longer edit the actual instrument from the Analogue Laboratory GUI. In V3 this is not a problem.

This has a few knock on issues:

1. The old hardware no longer represents the new software. (A trap Arturia have fallen in before with Spark)
2. The sound and scene buttons mean nothing in Analog Lab
3. Drum pads relate to only keys and do not relate to drums sounds
4. Scene mode? Where's that now I have to use Analog Lab

This may be more complicated but can we just copy a plug in into the old path so it sees it in Analogue Laboratory or is there more to it?

 Thanks, Stuart

         
Mac, Pro Tools
Spark CDM, Minibrute, Analog Laboratory 61, Beatstep

kickwizard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: 15
    • My soundcloud
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2014, 01:25:18 pm »
Ok i will honest i have never used Laboratory and i dont know what the scene function did


The first thing that springs to mind is development time

We not talking another synth

We talking about a host that is standalone and also sits in another host that has to be compatable with all synths and hosts in multiple guises of plugin formats and on different DAWs and OS's

Im guessing theres alot involved in bringing laboratory up to spec

Would you really take that development and testing time away from all the other projects
when you have a very similar product with those resources allready invested ?


Thats the real question you got ask yourself

Just my honest opinon

I don't want to derail your effort I just thinking logically

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 710
  • Karma: 27
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2014, 02:06:39 pm »
All it comes down to is not moving plug in locations, that's all.

Analogue Laboratory worked perfectly with V Collection 3, Standalone and in a DAW. Assuming the same plug in architecture is used for soft synths not in V 3, like Solina Matrix etc then there is no dev time.

Because plug in locations have moved it now means that Analogue Laboratory can no longer see them. The updates the V4 is, apart from the addition of the new stuff; to evoke license updates.

If you decide on a location for your application support, you should stick to it. Meaning upgrades and future migration is as easy as it can be.

But remember, this like Spark is not just about software. If you make hardware that is marketed towards complete compatibility with a certain software product, any future updates should follow that roadmap

Thanks, Stuart

 
Mac, Pro Tools
Spark CDM, Minibrute, Analog Laboratory 61, Beatstep

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 710
  • Karma: 27
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2014, 02:18:00 pm »
In the mac world this means something like, Analog lab with the updates to V4, plug ins have been moved from

/Library/Application Support/Arturia

to

/Library/Arturia

This references a thread about constant changing of the backend of Arturia's software ideas. Where shall we put our prefs?
This changes over time and this is what plays with compatibility.

Thanks, Stuart




Mac, Pro Tools
Spark CDM, Minibrute, Analog Laboratory 61, Beatstep

Adrien

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 369
  • Karma: 9
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2014, 02:19:47 pm »
Hello

Basically this has been moved so the whole VCollection now uses the same folder.
We know it was not great to have various folders for preferences etc.

Now all the vcoll uses the same paths.

Note: you should not touch those file yourselves except if requested by the support.
You might end up breaking your software.

Best
Adrien Courdavault
DSP & Software engineer
Arturia

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 710
  • Karma: 27
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2014, 02:41:40 pm »
Hello

Basically this has been moved so the whole VCollection now uses the same folder.
We know it was not great to have various folders for preferences etc.

Now all the vcoll uses the same paths.


Yes, a much better idea meaning a cleaner system and a clear path of where prefs and presets sit. This is equally good for exchanging XML between machines for the midi control software. I've been using Aturia plug ins since 1999 when you first release the mini Mg and the paths have changed a lot since then. Glad they are in one place now  :)

Thanks, Stuart
Mac, Pro Tools
Spark CDM, Minibrute, Analog Laboratory 61, Beatstep

mycall

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2014, 04:24:19 pm »
My Analog Laboratory 41 works great with the new v4 VCollection.  Next to MIDI Learn, I see my Analog Experience Keyboards setting which presets all of my knobs.

Make sure you have "Analog Experience v1_5_2, MIDI Control Center 1.1.0 and AAX Plugins 1.0 installed

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 710
  • Karma: 27
Re: Backwards Compatibility for V Collection version 4
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2014, 04:38:15 pm »
Hi Mycall

Open Analogue Laboratory, look at the top panel where you see All, Bottom and Up. Next to that is a button called Prefs. Click prefs and look at the bottom pane that says 'Enable full plug in if present'

What do you see? Bearing in mind you need to actually have the plug ins installed. Because the path has changed for the V4 installation this means that Analogue Laboratory no longer sees the plug in path and therefore you can no longer edit sounds with the original synth.

Open a preset and click edit, in the dark right hand panel on the bottom right, click open. Chances are, nothing happens.

Thanks, Stuart 
Mac, Pro Tools
Spark CDM, Minibrute, Analog Laboratory 61, Beatstep

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines