October 21, 2019, 02:15:40 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Bug with Reverb  (Read 15224 times)

legreg6

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Bug with Reverb
« on: December 04, 2014, 05:21:16 pm »
Most reverbs do not behave correctly. Some have a crackling sound, others turn into some nasty tremolo effect after a few seconds, with crackles too.
Anyone else experiencing this ?

PS: I own V Collection 3 and am actually demoing Solina to see if I want to upgrade. Can this issue be related to the demo version ?
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 05:25:56 pm by legreg6 »

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2014, 05:28:33 pm »
Standalone or via a DAW?

I don't have the same issues? Of course, when you change the time or delay whilst playing, it will give you different effects similar to old tape echoes but that's a good thing.

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

legreg6

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2014, 06:26:33 pm »
Both Standalone and AU versions. Delay off.
E.g I pick the RSP 550 Shimmer verb, play and hold a chord, the tremolo effect fades in, then become prominent.
BTW, I am on Mac OS X 10.9.5 (MacPro 5.1, 8-core, 16 GB RAM, SSD system drive)
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 06:35:35 pm by legreg6 »

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2014, 06:55:28 pm »
Not seeing that myself I'm afraid. Delays and 'Verbs react as i'd expect. They do crackle a bit when you change settings but that's mostly verb and delay time adjusting. I'm also on a 5.1 mac pro but i'm running 10.8.5, 48Gb RAM with SSD Drive

Try trashing your standalone prefs and restarting

/Library/Arturia/Solina V/tmp/standalone.pref

Thanks, Stuart   
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

legreg6

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2014, 07:54:33 pm »
Will try, thanks  ;)

Edit: Just tried and It did not solve the reverb issue.

BUT, I also tried that trick for the Wurlitzer, since I had an issue with the standalone app refusing to load (and had to Force Quit), and it fixed it. Thanks for that

« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 08:11:43 pm by legreg6 »

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2014, 09:30:24 pm »
Hey.. No problem. Glad you got something sorted.

It did notice that the Solina V is a bit memory heavy. In Pro Tools I had to increase my hardware buffer which I rarely do with 48Gb to spare.
So it may be that although you have a fair chuck of RAM, the Solina V wants more.

Thanks, Stuart 
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Adrien

  • Sr. Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Karma: 9
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2014, 09:38:59 pm »
Hello

I don't know for you, but on my PC, the solina is using 54 MB which is not that much.
How much is it using on your computer?

Best
Adrien Courdavault
DSP & Software engineer
Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2014, 09:45:30 pm »
Hi Adrien

I shall check and get back to you

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2014, 10:01:08 pm »
Hi Adrien

On Mac OSX 10.8.5. Solina V is using 15% CPU (2x2.93Ghz Quad Core) with 105Mb with 11 threads.

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

legreg6

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2014, 10:05:25 pm »
Adrien, it uses 91.3MB here.

Now Stuart...I totally overlooked the buffer size. I actually set it to 128 samples then thought I would increase it if anything. But I never did  ::)
Reading your post got me embarrassed because I had a feeling that was gonna be it.
Indeed... it is  :-[
I actually have to raise it up to 512 in order to stop this issue and have Solina play correctly...which is a lot though, isn't it ?

Well I guess this thread should be renamed...oops

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2014, 10:49:50 pm »
Yeah, In a DAW you shouldn't have to increase it up that far although it depends how many tracks you are running and what other plugs you have open. In standalone it does depend who much RAM you have and what other apps you have open, 512 is halfway so... Once thing it will do is extend your latency which isn't great.

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

boof

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2014, 02:28:18 pm »
Solina will go to 100% CPU usage when I use reverb. turn it off and no problem.



lots of issues since upgrading to collection4

analog lab nothing below c3 issue
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=83579.0

solina bug with reverb massive CPU issue
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=83554.0

matrix 12 skipping voices issue
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=83577.0

matrix 12 massive CPU issue
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=83576.0

vox reverb cpu issue
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=83578.0

matrix 12 voice sound change issue after first 12 voices
http://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=83603.0
« Last Edit: December 07, 2014, 03:57:09 pm by boof »

legreg6

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2014, 06:03:43 pm »
Yeah...that's my beef about Arturia. As much as I WANT to love their stuff, always a lot...I mean lots of issues. And some of them are simply never addressed (LFO trigger/reset on gate with Arp2600 and ModularV in order to make them predictable pops in my mind).
They do sound awesome...but over time, these issues discourage me from using them, since I often (most of the time) try to find workarounds for issues.
Not trying to be a party pooper here, this is just my experience...sort of a love and hate relationship.

PS: I did notice some erratic CPU activity with Solina that considerably settled when raising buffer to 512 samples. And yes, things are simply better when not using the reverb.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 06:08:12 pm by legreg6 »

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2014, 06:16:54 pm »
And besides, if you put the Solina V in a mix, you'd turn all external processing off and use one of your DAW reverbs. That's not a workaround, that's a real world scenario. :)

Thanks, Stuart 
 
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

legreg6

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bug with Reverb
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2014, 06:48:32 pm »
Stuart, I've essentially tested Solina standalone so far. Yes, when I use synths in daws, I never use their respective verbs and delay. The issues and workarounds I am talking about are encountered in daws, while producing, and are not related to internal reverbs and delay.
FYI, I had some serious issues with the Spark controller (a couple of them actually) that I never shared on any forum. I just ended up returning it.
Anyway, the twisted fact is that I sill might end up paying the $99 to upgrade...because 1) they do sound good, 2) it's affordable, 3) I'm a gearslutz, and 4) I really WANT to love Arturia stuff ;)

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines