March 29, 2024, 03:11:22 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: MicroBrute for my son?  (Read 4237 times)

thoskwin

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
MicroBrute for my son?
« on: November 09, 2014, 03:25:37 pm »
First off, I am not a musician.  I am a father looking to get a synthesizer for my musician son.  I have done quite a bit of online research an have all but settled on getting a MicroBrute for my son to cut his teeth on in the wonderful world of synthesizer generated music.  The MB seems to have enough features to be a wonderful learning tool.  I was especially impressed with the straight forward User Manual.

Second, I am aware that negative experiences and quality control issues show up on forums such as this one at a disproportionate level because that’s just human nature.

So, my basic question is:  “Is the MicroBrute a smart purchase for my son to explore the world of synthesizer generated music?”  Or am I in for a hassle of problems?  I am not willing to go much higher price wise.

Bacon

Re: MicroBrute for my son?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014, 10:18:26 am »
It's hard to give recommendations when you don't lnow the person, but I'll give my perspective.
The Microbrute is a great tool to learn the basics of synthesis in general and analog synthesis in particular. It is a limited instrument in terms of features compared to a lot of equipment available today, but this also means that it is fairly easy to learn.
I haven't really experienced any quality problems, apart from the sound of the oscillator leaking through at a low level when I'm not playing anything during part of the volume control's travel. Others have different experiences.

You can only play one note at a time on the Microbrute, so it can't be used for playing chords. On the other hand, it's perfect for playing expressive melodies, basslines, lead parts, and solos.