December 18, 2017, 08:05:39 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: microbrute as midi-cv converter  (Read 3088 times)

Slabwax

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
microbrute as midi-cv converter
« on: July 10, 2014, 09:45:18 pm »
Just to confirm ( i'm petty sure it will) midi out from synth to Microbrute midi in to CV outs on micro brute to what ever cv in's pitch,gate,lfo and env. Now does that bypass the Micro's panels control?  So lets say a subphatty to control eurorack. Would it blend the CVs  or bypass ?

Thanks

chysn

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: microbrute as midi-cv converter
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2014, 06:43:05 am »
Hey, Slabwax,

It neither "blends" CV nor bypasses. It simply behaves as though the MIDI notes are triggering the MicroBrute's keyboard.

My connections are as follows: Mopho Keyboard's MIDI Out (sending on Channel 2) to MicroBrute's MIDI In (receiving on Channel 2), MicroBrute's CV Gate Out to Minitaur's Gate In, MicroBrute's Pitch CV Out to Minitaur's Pitch In. When I play the Mopho Keyboard in this scenario, it triggers the Minitaur. When I play the MicroBrute, it also triggers the Minitaur. Playing keys on both instruments works exactly like playing multiple keys on the same instrument. Ditto with pitch bend.

Pitch modulation from the MicroBrute's panel does not modulate CV.

This setup is not perfect with respect to pitch. The pitch range is higher than it should be, and the pitch itself is almost a half tone off on the Minitaur. I don't have enough CV gear to determine whether the MicroBrute or the Minitaur is at fault. My multimeter reads .99 volts per octave out of the MicroBrute (1.00, 1.99, 2.98, 3.97, etc). But my meter is one of those six-dollar jobs from Menard's, and I can't imagine that .99 volts per octave would explain the large difference in pitch I'm hearing out of the Minitaur. So I think my testing is not conclusive.

Edit: Apparently I need to calibrate my Minitaur per http://forum.Mgmusic.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=20997. Assuming that works, the MicroBrute's CV does the job.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2014, 04:23:40 am by chysn »

chysn

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: microbrute as midi-cv converter
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2014, 09:58:20 pm »
This doesn't have anything to do with your original question (whether MIDI in triggers CV out, which it does), but I've pretty much given up on controlling the Minitaur via the MicroBrute. I tried calibrating the CV with the special SysEx messages. It does something, but the tracking is never particularly good.

I know that the MicroBrute's CV is close enough to 1v per octave, so the evidence points to this as a Minitaur problem.

Mon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: microbrute as midi-cv converter
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2017, 05:18:19 am »
Hi,

I recently purchased a Arturia Microbrute to control my SH101. The idea is sending MIDI from Ableton into the Minibrute's and connect MiniBrute's CV/Gate outputs to SH-101 CV/Gate inputs so any MIDI notes send to MiniBrute will feed the SH-101.

Iīm having some trouble with the configuration and canīt get a proper sound from the SH101.

First of all, how should I configure the Arturia software? I read that for example, gate can not be set to "Long" but what about other parametres?

Then Iīm using two 1/8" patch cables to connect both synth:

Microbrute PITCH OUT to Roland sh101 CV IN ??

Microbrute GATE OUT to Roland sh101 GATE IN ??

What I am doing wrong? I canīt get different notes from the 101 and the sound is weird...

Please help!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines