October 26, 2020, 06:48:45 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG  (Read 4283 times)

DongKoo

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« on: May 28, 2014, 03:23:34 pm »
so i have the SPARK CDM controller with SPARK2 and since the beginning i noticed that there is a lag between the sequencer and the sound it plays. Even without the controller. Is there anything i have to set up to get rid off this lag?
It's not really important but if i want to record/add live some instrument on my pattern i can't look at it to know where i am...

Tech details :
- SPARK CDM controller + External power
- USB Connected directly or thru a multi-usb on USB2 or 3 (it doesn't affect anything...)
- SPARK 2 software
- Dell Inspiron - Win8 - Core i7-3630QM @2.4GHz - 8Go RAM
Win8 - Core i7 3630QM @ 2.40GHz - 8Go DDR3
Arturia SPARK
Arturia MicroBrute
Arturia MiniLAB

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 11:25:23 am »
Hi

Have you tried disconnecting your external power supply?
When spark is connected via USB there is no need to add external power. The unit will be powered by the USB.

Have you tried other USB ports on your machine? Maybe try another cable too.
If you're running a hub that's powered then powering the spark externally as well as having bus power to the unit, you could just be giving the spark too much juice.

What version of spark are you using?

Try connecting the spark direct to your machine with no hub and no external power.

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

DongKoo

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2014, 10:43:45 am »
i have tryed different usb port with or without hub.

also i know that there is no need of the power supply but i've read many times that it's better to have it if you have others usb devices connected to the computer and as it's a laptop i thought it'll be better ...

with or without external power it doesn't change anything.

i'm running spark 2 with the first spark cdm (not LE).

The problem appears with spark 2 update. I had spark 1.7 and eveyrthing was ok before updating ...
« Last Edit: May 31, 2014, 11:10:37 am by DongKoo »
Win8 - Core i7 3630QM @ 2.40GHz - 8Go DDR3
Arturia SPARK
Arturia MicroBrute
Arturia MiniLAB

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2014, 12:17:39 pm »
Hi. Which version of Spark 2? They're up to beta3 of 2.0.1.

The only reason you'd need to power the spark via external power is if you were solely using 5 pin din midi cable for connections. When using USB there is no requirement for power as USB handles the power.

However, if you're running it via a hub with other devices it's recommended that you use a powered hub. The devices themselves don't need to be powered but the USB hub should be. This will eliminate any power bottlenecks at the hub end. Have you got any particularly power hungry devices also connected? I don't believe your issue is related to a hub/power issue but it's worth getting a powered hub all the same.

Powered hubs can be a bit hit and miss, so it's worth buying a decent one, the little black D Link hubs are very reliable.

I'm also running spark CDM, via USB with no external power connected to a laptop (albeit mac) and sometimes I even use it without the laptop plugged in and it's been steady as a rock!

All your windows updates ok? USB drivers? After that, do you have access to the latest beta? If you're running flat version 2 might be worth installing the updates.

Thanks, Stuart

Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

DongKoo

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2014, 04:58:49 pm »
i have spark 2.0.0 build 334 rev: 9ca68be - 32 bit downloaded it there : http://www.arturia.com/evolution/en/downloads/updates.html#spark
and i don't see any others update...
where can i find the beta3 you're talking about?
« Last Edit: May 31, 2014, 05:01:47 pm by DongKoo »
Win8 - Core i7 3630QM @ 2.40GHz - 8Go DDR3
Arturia SPARK
Arturia MicroBrute
Arturia MiniLAB

Terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.494
  • Karma: 40
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2014, 05:04:41 pm »
you can find it here.
http://www.arturia.com/evolution/smf/index.php?topic=82353.0

regards

please note it is a beta and there are bugs!
TerryM
ARTURIA Tester for Keystep pro,Audiofuse range, Microfreak,Kl49mkII,DrumBrute,Spark,Analog lab3,KLE,kl88,matrix12,Semv,Beatstep,Minibrute 2,Pigments
ASC,Vcol6, Beatstep pro, VCOL7, Synclavier v.Minibrute2s

DongKoo

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2014, 02:36:11 pm »
the beta solve the problem
And i confirm the bug about the sequencer which doesn't show steps 32-64. only 1-32
Win8 - Core i7 3630QM @ 2.40GHz - 8Go DDR3
Arturia SPARK
Arturia MicroBrute
Arturia MiniLAB

gen123456

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2014, 07:16:26 am »
I have SparkLE usb powered controller and I am getting like a two second lag between pushing anything on the controller and the software.  I downloaded the 2.0 version, the previous version I never had a problem with.  Is there anything else I can do besides downloading the buggy update?

gen123456

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2014, 08:04:31 am »
Follow up on my previous post Installed the newest beta version, I still have the controller lag.  Again older version never had any lag issues, please help.

kickwizard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: 15
    • My soundcloud
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2014, 10:56:24 am »
I have SparkLE usb powered controller and I am getting like a two second lag between pushing anything on the controller and the software.  I downloaded the 2.0 version, the previous version I never had a problem with.  Is there anything else I can do besides downloading the buggy update?

It will help if you provide more details about your system specs

Platform chipset ram etc

Is it in standalone ?

gen123456

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2014, 05:06:21 am »
sorry I should have included my specs : windows 7 dual chore 2.6ghz, 4 gigs of ram,64 bit operating, hp notebook

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2014, 09:46:18 am »
Is it happening in standalone and/or VST?
What sample rate and buffer size are you using?
Kevin
Soft Arturia

DongKoo

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2014, 12:23:00 pm »
ok, so i stop using the beta and i came back to 2.0 and it seems that my problem was because of the external power... now usb direct without hub and no external problem. everything work fine...
but it appears to me that 2.0 needs more ressources cpu/ram than the 1.7... may be this is your problem gen123456
Win8 - Core i7 3630QM @ 2.40GHz - 8Go DDR3
Arturia SPARK
Arturia MicroBrute
Arturia MiniLAB

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2014, 12:55:53 pm »
If you now go back to the Beta you'll find that it's still ok.

Just a pointer - When you diagnose things, only change one thing at a time. You then are certain that the change you made is either going to cure the problem or not make a difference. If by changing two things at once and you find you solve the issue, you can't be certain which of the 2 things changed was actually the culprit. But obviously the outcome of it being solved is the one's you're after :) 

@gen123456

Can you confirm that your hub is powered and your Spark is just plugged in via USB?

If you have other items plugged into the hub without it being powered one of these devices could be tipping the power consumption over the edge.
By removing one of two of the other devices, does your Spark behave itself?

Plug the hub into power, plug it into the computer then just plug the Spark in, how does that perform?

See the attached pic, as Kevin pointed out it might be your audio buffer, but even at it's highest setting it's only going to give you about at 1/2 second delay.

Thanks, Stuart

Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

gen123456

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: SPARK CDM + SPARK2 = LAG
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2014, 05:29:55 am »
thank you guys adjusting the buffer fixed the lag, I  have it set at 320 samples, does that by any chance degrade the quality of sound at all?
thanks.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines