October 20, 2020, 07:29:59 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?  (Read 6104 times)

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2014, 01:56:35 pm »
The last used tab should be saved and recalled each time you open the GUI or launch the application.
This will be fixed.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2014, 01:58:23 pm »
Perfect!

So that saves the entire window, the left hand browser etc

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2014, 02:04:49 pm »
Yes
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2014, 02:20:13 pm »
Great news Kevin! Thanks.

One more thing:)... How is it then possible to move between, say Project and the Kit tab once you have gone into the library via Shift 7? Using the shift key activates the side bar so that key can't be used. What other keys are there to activate moving between sub menus n the library tab?

This is why i believe that direct access via the wheel was a better solution. Click the wheel opens the Library, confirm the tab you want via another click,(This turns into a double click at speed. ) then scroll to the item. The shift 7 could then be there to go back to the 'top' of the library because either way, there is no way to go back a step when going through the library... But we'll agree to disagree :)

Stu

 
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2014, 02:26:03 pm »
Great news Kevin! Thanks.

One more thing:)... How is it then possible to move between, say Project and the Kit tab once you have gone into the library via Shift 7? Using the shift key activates the side bar so that key can't be used. What other keys are there to activate moving between sub menus n the library tab?

This should be done by clicking one second on the wheel then scrolling it.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2014, 02:29:09 pm »
Quote
This should be done by clicking one second on the wheel then scrolling it.

Ok, so all of this is to be in the next update?

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2014, 02:30:48 pm »
Quote
This should be done by clicking one second on the wheel then scrolling it.

Because that sort of works now but is very intermittent

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #22 on: May 16, 2014, 02:36:56 pm »
HI Kevin, Or perhaps adding the tabbed item to the list when scrolling?

So you have your list of kits and the top item would be either Projects, Kits, Instruments and Disk. When you are in Project, a list of your projects and also Projects, Kits, Instruments and Disk as the top item. Meaning, when you are at the top, scrolling would differ the menus, not the item under it.

This also means, no accidental opening of projects or kits when using the 1 sec rule

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #23 on: May 16, 2014, 02:39:02 pm »
good point.
have to discuss this with seb
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2014, 02:42:28 pm »
Great!

Thanks Kevin. Add me onto the beta list if that's ok?

Stuart

Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2014, 02:51:37 pm »
no pb
Kevin
Soft Arturia

mcx

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 5
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #26 on: May 27, 2014, 12:07:09 pm »
stuart you are funny loved what you said about pressing a ciggarette lighter to start the car :) but ive noticed the jog wheel doesnt work hope they fix this soon

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #27 on: May 27, 2014, 12:44:14 pm »
I'm here all week :)

Yes, the Spark 2 workflow is being looked at, probably as we speak so updates will follow. Currently the new beta does use the jog wheel but only once Shift 7 is pressed.

Shift 7 --> gets you to Library and will remain on the latest saved state.
click and hold jog wheel for about 2 seconds, this will highlight sub menus, then turn to choose.
Shift 1 --> gets you back to main screen

Above is a mixture of hardware and software workflow.

Hope that helps
Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Demozic

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 2
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #28 on: June 01, 2014, 12:31:42 pm »
Quote
This should be done by clicking one second on the wheel then scrolling it.

Because that sort of works now but is very intermittent

Stu
From what I experienced with the jogwheel (at least since v1.7 and still there with v2.0.1beta363), and would explain the intermittent behaviour :

1/ To navigate in page 7 (library) submenus (Project/Kits/Inst./Disk)
actual behavior => hold wheel click for "1 sec" => then turn left/right to navigate while holding the jogwheel (then we can release the wheel and still navigate thru the tabs but ONLY after turning left/right first) => click to validate the tab

2 issues :

* the jogwheel is quite sensitive so if user turns the jog BEFORE the end of "1 sec" timer => (tab select is aborted) => releasing the wheel -> load the selected project/kit/inst (unwanted behavior).
 
* if user hold the wheel for "1 sec" but release it without turning left/right while holding the wheel -> do nothing (user thinks it doesn't work)

mod suggestions :
a/ (from library page) => click+hold wheel click (no timer) => (still holding the wheel click) turn left/right to navigate thru the tabs => release -> validate the tab
or
b/ (from library page) => hold select to navigate thru both favorites AND tabs
(close to Stuart's post 22 suggestion)
or
c/ (from library page) => hold select + click on the jogwheel to navigate thru the Tabs
(in this case, when you hold Select + 7 -> go to library tab / still hold select + click on jogwheel -> navigate thru the tabs)
or
d/ when library page opens (shift+7 or 1st click on wheel) -> navigate thru tabs / 2nd click -> validate tab and navigate thru the presets
(in this case, double click -> directly navigate thru the presets of the last selected tab = Stuart's post 18 suggestion)

So in any ways, get rid of this 1 sec timer...

2/ +1 for the "click on jogwheel" (from any page)  -> go to page 7 (library), like in Spark v1.x

3/ I would prefer having a validate pop menu when loading (from library page) or saving (with select+9) a project/kit/instrument to prevent accidental load or save. If some users don't like this behavior, this could be an option in Preferences (Confirm before load/save : Yes/No + Default confirm answer : Yes / No).
« Last Edit: June 01, 2014, 12:37:55 pm by Demozic »

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #29 on: June 01, 2014, 02:45:13 pm »
All this holding for 1 sec then and scrolling malarky is subjective. Being very sensitive, a hold could be seen as a push and visa versa, but saying all this, there still is not exit strategy.

I think it's been said a free times that direct access is the way forward, yes, lets keep the shift 7 for conformity thats all fine. but once you're in Library, how do you get out?

Once you're into the library it is assumed that you make a selection, you then return back to the main window. What if you want to exit the menu without choosing an instrument?   You can't...

There are two 'clear' button (Shift -Mute, Solo) but a simple 'cancel' is required on the hardware. For software it's a case of just hitting 'Esc'


Personally i think there should be no holding down of the wheel at all, it's too idiosyncratic and rife for mistakes. A simple click of the wheel should get you to the library, saved in the last state you left it in. The wheel then should scroll through the entire list but not indefinitely scroll. The sub menus should be included in the scroll so when one of the menus is highlight, you are able to choose from of the sub menus list (click to confirm).
There should also be a 'cancel or back' item in list so that you can exit if needed.

All this should also be reported on the hardware. Reporting change is the single most important thing when controlling software.

This may be complicated to code, but ultimately, extremely simple to use, which is of course the idea scenario.

Thanks, Stuart
 

Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines