October 20, 2020, 07:01:04 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?  (Read 6103 times)

martrox

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Does anyone know if Spark 2 software will work with the original Spark hardware?

Audesi

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 3
    • Audesi
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2014, 12:10:00 pm »
Yes, it should. It even has the original controller skin under options.

Patrick Dee

  • Beta-testers
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 2
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2014, 12:28:15 pm »
Does anyone know if Spark 2 software will work with the original Spark hardware?

Yes, I have the original Spark hardware and it works
Spark 1.5, Arturia V Collection, Asus P5 Q Pro Deluxe, Quadcore 4X 2,83 GHZ, Windows 7 64, bit , 4 GB Ram, 2 * 500gb Western Digital, Cubase 7 32 and 64bit, Ableton 8, NI Maschine, Akai MPC Renaissance, Akai MPD 32, Maschine Mikro, Fireface RME 800, TC Electronic Powervcore Firewir, UAD 1ex

Ivan_0707

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 04:03:47 pm »
Yes, it works.

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2014, 01:30:54 pm »
It doesn't, not as you see the hardware.

They have removed the Instrument/kit function, choosing to ask you to use Shift 7 to get to the library, then you are able to use the scroll/log wheel. Even then, you then have 4 further sub menus that the wheel needs to be able to control. Unsuccessfully in my testing 

The hardware will only truly work on release 1.7.2

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2014, 01:40:31 pm »
Stuart you are exaggerating a bit.
The 4 submenus were already here in 1.7.2, if they are not switchable with the Spark hardware that's a bug (I have to double check this).
All the other features are working with Spark hardware.

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2014, 02:06:13 pm »
It's workflow Kevin

And removing that function has broken the workflow. If you have a button on a piece of hardware that says "Press here to activate *an example* "
You then remove that functionality with a software update, you are effectively killing off the hardware use with Spark. What happens when you add new SW features, are you going to further remove hardware functions?

My car has a steering wheel, if I upgrade something on my car, I don't expect that upgrade to remove functionality of my steering wheel and force me to engage the cigarette lighter before I'm able to use the steering wheel.

In order to play live I cannot upgrade to Spark 2 as I no longer have *direct* access to my kits. I don't have time to switch another button before I jog through my kits. I'm not saying that using Shift 7 to get to the library is a bad thing, it's a nice shortcut to have.
I would also expect other shortcuts in order to get through the 4 sub menus, but you're running out of keys as it is.

This would work far better if you were to have a preference that specified the sub menu that the library switches to. Currently, when i hit Shift 7 on my HW, the library will go to the last sub menu page I was on, presuming I make the change first, on start up it always defaults to instruments, meaning I have to dig around in the software to alter it's state. I can now choose the kits I want to show and hide (which is a nice feature) but to be able to specify the sub menu the library lands on is imperative if you are going to run with removing that direct access to the kits.

Stu

Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: 18
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2014, 06:56:00 pm »
Confirmed & just submitted the bug --

On the original CDM hardware, clicking the CDM jog dial does not directly open the Instrument Library or Kit Library.

Clicking and holding the dial for 1 second does not seem to change the highlight on the GUI indicating which library will open.

The SparkLE hardware unit opens the intended library correctly.


CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: 18
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2014, 07:34:19 pm »

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2014, 09:35:20 pm »
Stuart you are exaggerating a bit.
The 4 submenus were already here in 1.7.2, if they are not switchable with the Spark hardware that's a bug (I have to double check this).
All the other features are working with Spark hardware.

Kevin

Hi Kevin

Yes they were, correct. They were broken then. I wanted to see if V2 had corrected it. Unfortunately.....

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2014, 09:18:53 am »
Hello Kevin

Did you manage to test this?

Thanks
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2014, 01:04:24 pm »
Hi Stu,
sorry this has not been fixed in beta1.
I will add this to the todo list for beta2
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2014, 01:14:10 pm »
Thanks

Can you confirm the jog wheel functionality is only accessible via Shift 7? And if this is the case, can we see a preference for the specific tab it lands on? What i'd like to see, if there is absolutely no way to have direct access to these tabs via the jog wheel; is a preference that assures the saved state of the 4 sub menus. So when I hit Shift 7, I know that i'm always going to land on Projects, or Kits, or whatever I've set. Plus, with the nice way that the left panel can show and hide, we can have direct access to the kits, projects and instruments we want.

Stu
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2014, 01:22:03 pm »
Normally when you open the Library tab it should always open in the last tab you were.
There might be some case where it does not (especially after closing/reopening GUI) but these are bugs and will be fixed (hopefully soon :)).

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuey

  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: 27
Re: Will Spark 2 software will work with the original hardware?
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2014, 01:49:13 pm »
Default is Instruments when the app is shut down and restarted. Could this be a preference?

Default Library Tab: (Drop down that includes Project, Instrument, Kit and Disk)

This would mean that live workflow would be far slicker. I would like to go:

Shift 7 > jog wheel to flick through desired items

Instead of

Shift 7 > Jog wheel to choose tab >  jog wheel to flick through desired items

What do you think?

Stu
 

Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines