January 19, 2022, 01:24:53 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Sample Layering  (Read 2300 times)

rodanmusic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: 3
Sample Layering
« on: August 27, 2012, 06:53:47 pm »
Can someone please explain how the layering process for samples works in Spark.  There is hardly any information on it in the manual.

I tried getting two drums to play together each on their own layers but couldn't get it to work as I assumed it would

Is there a way to eq specific layers?

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Sample Layering
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 09:22:03 am »
Can someone please explain how the layering process for samples works in Spark.  There is hardly any information on it in the manual.

I tried getting two drums to play together each on their own layers but couldn't get it to work as I assumed it would
The layer are based on velocity.
Lower layer for lower velocity, higher layer for higher velocity.
Quote
Is there a way to eq specific layers?

no
Kevin
Soft Arturia

rodanmusic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: 3
Re: Sample Layering
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 10:21:03 pm »
So there is no way to have the sample layers play regardless of the velocity so that you can create a singular kick drum from multiple drum samples?

As of now my workflow basically goes as follows:

use battery 3 to adjust each sample layer's individual adsr and pitch envelopes.  Output the results of each to their own mixer channel where I can eq each individual layer and then finally send the results of that to a buss channel where I do overall compression and leveling. 

Then I have to bounce that and import it back into spark.

How are other people doing this? Is there an easier way?
« Last Edit: August 28, 2012, 10:50:35 pm by rodanmusic »

Kevin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.545
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Sample Layering
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 08:08:42 am »
In the upcoming version you will be able to stack the layer.
However you wont be able to EQ each layer individually.

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

rodanmusic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: 3
Re: Sample Layering
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2012, 05:03:33 pm »
Awesome I can't wait! That will be extremely useful for me :)

punkdSICO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 4
Re: Sample Layering
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2012, 10:38:09 am »
Sounds good, Kevin..  Im still hoping for an August release of the next version :)

ta,

Paul
London
www.punkdisco.co.uk
Text SLUT to: 29 7 29 7
Here’s the video:  www.youtu.be/Zl0PTZKy7fg

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines