July 27, 2021, 01:54:32 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard  (Read 4687 times)

jimmick

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: -1
3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« on: March 20, 2012, 05:21:04 pm »
Hi,

I have tried 3 times to purchase an Origin Keyboard.

The first one had an issue with the sequencer rate button.
The second was a second-hand demonstrator (worked OK but had been heavily used)
The third would power up but gave no sound 9 out of 10 times.
Have emailed Arturia but never got an answer.

Very disappointed since this is a synth I would love to own, Jimmick!!!

Antoine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.087
  • Karma: 38
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2012, 06:07:35 pm »
Is there a Tech Support case still opened? If so, please forward the number so I can trace what's goin' on.
ex-Arturian

JacksonP

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: 28
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 08:30:50 pm »
Hey, my Origin has similar symptoms but not that often. Sometimes (perhaps 2-3 times of 10) I have to reboot it to make it sound. Is this something which is in software or in hardware?

Others, are you experiencing similar issues?


dwp2659

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 3
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2012, 09:12:15 pm »
I have the origin keyboard and it also exhibits this problem - sometimes 2 restarts are need to get a sound out of it.  Not all the time this happens - but enough that it's a pain.

dwp

Philippe

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 437
  • Karma: 56
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2012, 08:25:02 am »
Could you check - when this "no sound" bug occurs - that the UI is still responsive, that is if you can change presets, and also if the sequencer LEDs are flashing when you start a sequence (eg with the preset P0007)? That kind of info will tell me where things are going wrong.

Thanks.
Origin Lead  Developer

jimmick

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: -1
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2012, 09:35:00 am »
Phillipe,

As far as I remember I could change presets.

However, I did not hold onto the synth, I returned it immediately.

I am very disappointed in Arturia, who seem to have a potentially great product which is seriously let down by major reliability issues, Jimmick

Philippe

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 437
  • Karma: 56
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2012, 03:15:00 pm »
I remember having made a fix of this "no sound" bug which is included to the next 1.4 release (which should not be long to be available now).
Origin Lead  Developer

JacksonP

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: 28
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2012, 05:45:31 pm »
Yesterday I had it: Origin has no sound but seems to work otherwise normally. I could change presets.

So, it's software based problem?

Philippe

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 437
  • Karma: 56
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2012, 06:14:24 pm »
Yes. For some reason, the levels are not received correctly by the DSPs at startup, so now I send them each time a preset is loaded, and of course when they are changed.
Origin Lead  Developer

bass6strng

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2012, 01:41:14 pm »
Greetings:

So is this bugged fixed with upgrade 1.4?

I experience this quite often, everything works, can scroll through the presets and no freezing, however, no sound. I usually have to reboot 2 or 3 times before I can get sound.

Second question, does the constant rebooting hurt the circuitry of the unit?

Thanks.

Philippe

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 437
  • Karma: 56
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2012, 03:11:34 pm »
Greetings:

So is this bugged fixed with upgrade 1.4?

I experience this quite often, everything works, can scroll through the presets and no freezing, however, no sound. I usually have to reboot 2 or 3 times before I can get sound.

Yes, this one is fixed, but some users have experienced a very low output level after a start-up, which seems to be a different bug. These users need to set the volume again and then it works OK. I'll work on this "start up level" bug and some others as soon as I have the green light from my management.

Second question, does the constant rebooting hurt the circuitry of the unit?

Thanks.

Don't think so.
Origin Lead  Developer

bass6strng

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2012, 12:55:01 pm »
Thanks for your response. I really love the Origin.

hermitnerd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: 48
  • Paul Schilling
    • Soundcloud page with synth demos
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2012, 04:51:30 am »

Not sure if this is related to the "low output level at startup" but I noticed a curious behavior when starting a new patch: With a new patch, there are no FX configured. However when I press one (or more) of the On/Off buttons under Effects, my newly created preset suddenly becomes much louder! The On/Off buttons do not light up.

For me, this is not undesirable behavior because suddenly I am getting more volume out of my beloved Origin for the new program I am creating, but it seems more like a bug than a feature : )

Philippe

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 437
  • Karma: 56
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2012, 08:42:35 am »
Could you describe the steps you follow before the ON/OFF action? Which new patch? That kind of things.

Thanks
Origin Lead  Developer

hermitnerd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: 48
  • Paul Schilling
    • Soundcloud page with synth demos
Re: 3 times failure on buying Origin Keyboard
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2012, 10:14:59 pm »

Hi Philippe:

The simplest way of reproducing what I'm hearing is

New -> Simple Program

Then, while holding down a key on the keyboard, press the On/Off button for FX1, then FX2, then FX3. The volume gets incrementally louder with each FX On/Off button pressed. The On/Off buttons do not light up, and the volume stays there, even if I try pressing the On/Off buttons again.

This is not a big issue, but it may be related to the other volume issue(s) that have been raised.


 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines