April 23, 2024, 11:29:54 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Arturia UI on PC tablets like the iPad  (Read 2387 times)

Man-Machine

Arturia UI on PC tablets like the iPad
« on: October 17, 2011, 09:12:55 pm »
I've been an Arturia user and fan since the beginning and have all their products. I also owned almost all of the original synths (not CS-80) and can vouch for their emulations capabilities. Recently, I started re-buying all these vintage synths back again.

Why? Not because of the sound. Arturia emulations are very capable. I've switched back because of the user interface. I'm now way more productive using the real hardware.

I'm a musician that does not use presets. I always create my own sounds and tweak my synths live when recording or playing them. So user interface is VERY important for musicians like me.

So what's wrong with Arturia UI?!? The synths look beautiful and you can just map parameters to MIDI controllers. What's the problem?

Let's look at how we tweak a real hardware synth. I see three distinctive steps:

1 - Look for the parameter
2 - Reach for it.
3 - Tweak it.

Now let's apply these steps to the mouse/computer experience first.

Our first step (or problem) is finding the parameter on the computer screen. Arturia visual reproduction of the originals make the synth look small on screen when you proportionally compare with a person standing next to the real hardware. There's too much real estate being eaten by things that look beautiful but only make sense on the real hardware, like the keyboard keys, the rectangular shape of the synthesizer, etc. The original synth user interface was designed to make sense for the real hardware only, not computer screen and a mouse!