April 25, 2024, 02:17:00 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: I am very disappointed  (Read 3684 times)

Asterion

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
I am very disappointed
« on: October 31, 2009, 02:20:39 pm »
Hi, I'm new here.

I was pretty much sold on the 10 Year Collection, but I thought I'd better read up on the copy protection first, and now I'm not so sure if I want to deal with it.

I'm a graphic designer, so I'm no stranger to the dreaded dongle. That being said, no company that makes design software uses a dongle anymore, and in fact, they even let you install the software on two computers.

If I'm going to drop that amount of cash on something, I want it to be a good experience.

I know that no one likes the dongle, and Arturia should be aware that it's costing them sales and hurting their reputation at the same time. These synths are top of the line, and it really hurts me not buying them, but I have the feeling it'll hurt more if I do.

I know that the Analog Factory and MiniMg are now dongle-free, as long as you want to only use them on one computer. I can live with that, but god help you if your computer crashes.

I can't do it. I'm not going back to the days of the dongle.

I'm going to look at other synths now.

Wookiee

• The 4077
Re: I am very disappointed
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2009, 03:46:06 pm »
Agreed Dongles bad things  >:(
This post may or may not contain errors of an indeterminate nature.
Arturia Synths: Modular V. ARP 2600V, CS 80V, Prophet V. Mini V, Jupiter 8V, Spark VDM, Analogue Lab, Analogue Laboratory
Tunes https://soundcloud.com/wookiee-4077

onewave

• Apprentice
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2009, 05:21:48 pm »
Asterion,

Although you are very disappointed, I wonder why. I have another computer music friend that I have known very well since high school, he feels the same way about the dongle.