October 17, 2019, 09:55:32 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: So V2 still does not expose half it's controls to the host...  (Read 2284 times)

Rob Roff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 4
So V2 still does not expose half it's controls to the host...
« on: October 02, 2009, 06:16:43 am »
Ughh. why!??!?!?!?

So many sliders aren't recognized and none of the buttons. These instruments are made for mapping out to hardware, yet they are some of the only commercial instruments on the market that don't expose most of it's parameters to the host. And most of the good hardware mapping these days are host parameter dependent (Novation Automap, Kore, Ableton configuration, Cubase mapping etc.). How hard can it be? Why can almost all other plug-ins do it but arturia can't?

This does not bode well for the rest of the updates...

Antoine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.087
  • Karma: 38
Re: So V2 still does not expose half it's controls to the host...
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2009, 10:18:10 am »
Most of the controls are MIDI assignable, a [Command]+clic (Mac) or [Control]+clic (Windows) should let you assign most of them.

For internal technical reasons, all the knobs or functions cannot be MIDI automated, i.e. tweakable on the fly, because they imply internal patching that would not necessarily accept to have their values changed too fast (too many times in a short time).

These controls are now available for MIDIfication in V2:
  • Range Osc1
  • Range Osc2
  • Lfo1 Sync
  • Lfo2 Sync
  • Filter1 Type
  • Filter2 Type (12 or 24 dB)
  • Osc Synchro
  • Delay Sync
ex-Arturian

Undercoverman

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
Re: So V2 still does not expose half it's controls to the host...
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2009, 06:44:33 pm »
We are not asking for every single control to be assignable to MIDI. What we are asking for is that those controls which are already available to be assigned to MIDI are also available to host VST automation. Usually over half the assignable controls on each of the synths are available for MIDI automation, but not VST host automation. If they can be changed via MIDI, why not the host?

Rob Roff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 4
Re: So V2 still does not expose half it's controls to the host...
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2009, 01:57:33 am »
We are not asking for every single control to be assignable to MIDI. What we are asking for is that those controls which are already available to be assigned to MIDI are also available to host VST automation. Usually over half the assignable controls on each of the synths are available for MIDI automation, but not VST host automation. If they can be changed via MIDI, why not the host?

Exactly.

Antoine, we've been over this regarding the miniMg V. You said you were looking into this "feature" implementation.

We are not asking for more controls to be able to be midi learned. We need them to be exposed to the host. For example the square wave activation button. It can be midi learned but it is not exposed to the host. It is much more common now to use hardware mapping that is reliant on controls being exposed to the host, as I said above.

You mentioned you were looking into this months ago. What was the result of your investigation?

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines