March 29, 2024, 11:23:47 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: tricks to make Arturia synth plugins sound more "analog  (Read 4359 times)

boingboomtschak

tricks to make Arturia synth plugins sound more "analog
« on: August 12, 2007, 09:41:42 pm »
I just bought the Arturia V collection.

It sounds fucking incredible compared to other softsynths. I have very little hands-on experience with the real synths after which they're modeled, so I'm not very familiar with the difference in sound between softsynths and the real thing, especially after it's all sitting in the mix and rendered to a stereo file.

What sorts of audio treatment can one use to make it sound more authentic, like the sound traveled through a 1/4" cable?

I use Ableton Live as my primary DAW. Also, I've been producing for a few years, so I know my way around the basic tools.

thanks,
b

boingboomtschak

« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2007, 06:56:55 am »
[crickets]

this forum's not very active, is it.

[crickets]

Sweep

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2007, 12:44:49 pm »
Quote from: "boingboomtschak"
[crickets]

this forum's not very active, is it.

[crickets]

We're all busy making music. :)

One thing you can do to get closer to a more traditional sound is to treat the signal as you'd treat the signal from a hardware synth. That may sound obvious, but a lot of people don't do it. There's a video on the net of a guy doing a supposed A/B comparison, and he's playing the softsynth(not an Arturia in this case) through what sounds like a cheap soundcard and a cheap set of speakers, and of course it ends up sounding like an 80s video game compared with the hardware synth.

My only hesitation is that you're using Ableton Live. Nothing wrong with that, of course, but I'm not sure how that affects your treatment of the synth signal. Are you able to bring the signal back into the computer after treating it and then run it into Ableton?