April 20, 2024, 10:28:20 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: is there a way of obtaining more than 8 voices ???  (Read 5757 times)

asheraa

is there a way of obtaining more than 8 voices ???
« on: November 07, 2003, 05:38:02 am »
my cpu will not go over 15% with the CS-80V.

Is there a way of getting say 16 voices by somehow running the program twice?

Can we expect from Arturia to add say 16-32 voices as a preference option for people with fast cpus?     is this a complex thing?
With 70's hardware, each voice were separate discreete components, that add to cost, tuning and wiring complexities.....  

Oberheim 8 voice, was just a 4 voice SEM, with four more SEM modules...

I am not a programmer, but I asume that the voice modules on virtual instuments are "program modules" like layers in parallel if you wish, that can be added to the program as simple copies of the original 8 voices, provided that RAM and CPU power exists.....

anyone on this?

www.ashera.com

xavier

« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2003, 08:45:22 am »
Why 8 voices only ? Because of the limitation of the mulimode panel: Each voice can be tuned, paned, managed by one of the four midi zone which can assign voices with up to 7 modes (rotate, reset, unisson, ...).
Each voice can have its own sound....

With 16-32 voices, the multimode panel would be to complicated and to large.

Xavier

bg

• Beta-testers
Re: is there a way of obtaining more than 8 voices ???
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2003, 02:01:02 pm »
Quote from: "asheraa"
anyone on this?

8 is plenty.

asheraa

« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2003, 11:27:08 pm »
let me understand, you mean that you limited to 8 voices because of the graphic size of the multimode pannel???